9780061442933

The Battery: How Portable Power Sparked a Technological Revolution

by
  • ISBN13:

    9780061442933

  • ISBN10:

    0061442933

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 1/1/2010
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publications
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $59!
    Your order must be $59 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $25.99 Save up to $3.90
  • Buy New
    $22.09

    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's "Cod" and "Salt" comes the first popular history of the technology which harnessed electricity and powered the greatest scientific and technological advances of the modern era. Line drawings throughout.

Table of Contents

Introduction History in Real Timep. ix
A World without Sciencep. 1
The Death of Superstitionp. 10
The Tale of the Frogp. 39
Science, Showmanship, and the Voltaic Pilep. 51
Not a Gentleman of Sciencep. 69
What Hath God Wrought?p. 97
Finally, Something Usefulp. 131
Power and Lightp. 141
Genius by Designp. 169
Victorian Age of Discoveryp. 176
Without Wiresp. 184
Mass-Marketing Miraclesp. 198
What Will They Think of Next?p. 213
Distance Dies in the Parlorp. 217
The Endless Frontierp. 225
See It! Hear It! Get It!p. 251
Smaller and Smallerp. 262
Always Onp. 270
Lab Reportsp. 274
Epilogue Bring on the Futurep. 279
Appendix Those Troublesome Baghdad Batteriesp. 283
Selected Bibliographyp. 289
Indexp. 297
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review