CART

(0) items

Dani's Story : A Journey from Neglect to Love,9780470591338

Dani's Story : A Journey from Neglect to Love

by ; ;
Edition:
1st
ISBN13:

9780470591338

ISBN10:
0470591331
Format:
Hardcover
Pub. Date:
7/5/2011
Publisher(s):
Wiley
List Price: $24.95

eBook

Downloadable Offline Access
  • Apple Devices
  • Android Devices
  • Windows Devices
  • Mac Devices
Lifetime Access
$18.27

Rent Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

New Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $2.47
See Prices

Summary

The story that captivated a nation?how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents In July 2005, a six-year-old girl named Danielle was removed from her Florida home after authorities found her living in bug-ridden squalor, subjected to horrific neglect and so damaged by her own mother that recovery seemed hopeless. But hope was waiting for Dani?and help. In October 2007, Bernie and Diane Lierow, a hard-working couple with five boys of their own, adopted her and utterly transformed her life. This book tells the moving story of how the Lierows rescued Dani and helped her recover to the point where she can not only communicate, something once thought impossible, but can say of herself, "I pretty." Dani's story was featured on Oprah and the subject of a Pulitzer Prize-winning article published by the St. Petersburg Times The Lierows describe their struggle to adopt Dani, how they bonded with her and made a home for her, how they satisfied her craving for contact and stimuli, how Dani began to overcome her severe learning disabilities, how she learned she no longer had to steal food, and how their son Willie may be the greatest brother ever For readers who enjoyed Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope; Hope's Boy; and Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood Charting a perilous journey from hardship to hope, a new family, and a second chance at life, Dani's Story is a book you cannot put down and will never forget.

Author Biography

DIANE and BERNIE LIEROW are parents to six children, including Dani, as well as foster parents. Their story won a Pulitzer Prize for the St. Petersburg Times and was featured on The Oprah Winfrey Show. They live on a farm in Tennessee with miniature horses, goats, chickens, and Great Pyrenees dogs.

KAY WEST is a veteran print media journalist who has also written three books.

Table of Contents

Introductionp. 1
Planting the Seedp. 5
Seekingp. 17
The Girl in the Photop. 23
The Feral Childp. 29
Meeting Daniellep. 33
Falling through the Cracksp. 43
Nowhere Childp. 51
Into the Systemp. 55
Truth and Consequencesp. 59
Butterflies Are Freep. 69
All in Good Timep. 79
Step by Stepp. 87
Meet the Familyp. 93
Hello Kittyp. 103
Ready, Set, Gop. 119
One Step Backwardp. 145
Two Steps Aheadp. 157
T.J. Bearytalesp. 169
Pedal, Pedal, Pedal!p. 179
Danip. 187
Baby's First Christmasp. 199
Tennesseep. 207
The Public Eyep. 217
Big Brotherp. 237
Homep. 247
Epiloguep. 257
Acknowledgmentsp. 265
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...