9781250095794

The Domino Diaries My Decade Boxing with Olympic Champions and Chasing Hemingway's Ghost in the Last Days of Castro's Cuba

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781250095794

  • ISBN10:

    1250095794

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 6/7/2016
  • Publisher: Picador

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $59!
    Your order must be $59 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $16.00 Save up to $2.40
  • Rent Book $14.40
    Add to Cart Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

A powerful and lively work of immersive journalism, Brin-Jonathan Butlerís account of his time chasing the American dream through Cuba

Whether heís hustling his way into Mike Tysonís mansion for an interview, betting his life savings on a boxing match (against the favorite), becoming romantically entangled with one of Fidel Castroís granddaughters, or simply manufacturing press credentials to go where he wantsóBrin-Jonathan Butler has always been the ďact first, ask permission laterĒ kind of journalist.

The Domino Diaries is the culmination of Butlerís decade spent in the trenches of Havana, trying to understand a culture perplexing to westerners: one whose elite athletes regularly forgo multimillion-dollar opportunities to stay in Cuba and box for their country, while living in penury. Butlerís fascination with this distinctly Cuban idealism sets him off on a remarkable journey, training with, befriending, and interviewing the champion boxers that Cuba seems to produce more than any other country.

In the process, though, Butler gets to know the landscape of the exhilaratingly warm Cuban cultureóand starts to question where he feels most at home. In the tradition of Michael Lewis and John Jeremiah Sullivan, Butler is a keen and humane storyteller, and the perfect guide for this riotous tour through the streets of Havana.

Author Biography

BRIN-JONATHAN BUTLER is a writer and filmmaker. His work has appeared in ESPN Magazine, Vice, Deadspin, The Wall Street Journal, Salon, and The New York Times. Butlerís documentary, Split Decision, is Butlerís examination of Cuban-American relations and the economic and cultural paradoxes that have shaped them since Castroís revolution, through the lens of elite Cuban boxers forced to choose between remaining in Cuba or defecting to America.

Rewards Program

Write a Review