9780143116547

English

by ; ;
  • ISBN13:

    9780143116547

  • ISBN10:

    0143116541

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 3/30/2010
  • Publisher: Penguin (Non-Classics)
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $59!
    Your order must be $59 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $15.00 Save up to $2.25
  • Buy New
    $12.75

    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

"I loved this book and can't stop talking about it. . . Transcendent." -Carolyn See, The Washington Post In the tradition of Balzacand the Little Chinese Seamstress, Wang Gang's Englishis a captivating coming-of- age novel about the power of language to launch a journey of self- discovery. When a new teacher comes to school-a tall, elegantly dressed man from Shanghai carrying an English dictionary under his arm-twelve- year-old Love Liu turns away from Chairman Mao's little red book and toward the teacher's big blue book for answers to his most pressing questions about love and life. But as a whole new world begins to open up for him, Love Liu must face a test more challenging than any he'll take in the classroom.

Author Biography

Wang Gang based English on his experiences growing up in western China. An acclaimed novelist and screenwriter, he now lives in Beijing.
Martin Merz, a native speaker of English, holds a master's degree in applied translation from the Open University of Hong Kong.
Jane Weizhen Pan, a native speaker of Chinese, is a professional translator as well as an interpreter in Mandarin, Cantonese, and English.

Rewards Program

Write a Review