CART

(0) items

A History of Critical International Relations Theory: Reconstructing the Concept of Emancipation,9780415523677
This item qualifies for
FREE SHIPPING!
FREE SHIPPING OVER $59!

Your order must be $59 or more, you must select US Postal Service Shipping as your shipping preference, and the "Group my items into as few shipments as possible" option when you place your order.

Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace Items, eBooks, Apparel, and DVDs not included.

A History of Critical International Relations Theory: Reconstructing the Concept of Emancipation

by ;
Edition:
1st
ISBN13:

9780415523677

ISBN10:
0415523672
Format:
Hardcover
Pub. Date:
6/6/2016
Publisher(s):
Routledge

Questions About This Book?

What version or edition is this?
This is the 1st edition with a publication date of 6/6/2016.
What is included with this book?
  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any CDs, lab manuals, study guides, etc.

Summary

This book presents a conceptual history that offers a reconstruction of the concept of emancipation as it has developed within the tradition of Critical Theory and Critical International Relations Theory. It meticulously details the emancipatory content of a number of related theorists in the critical tradition, providing both an exegesis of their individual thought and the school as a whole from which its project of emancipation has been constructed. The volume moves chronologically in its study, beginning with chapters on Kant, Hegel, Marx and the Frankfurt School in Part I and on into Critical International Relations Theory and such writers as Linklater, Cox, Booth, Wyn-Jones and Held in part II. As the volume reconstructs the project of emancipation within Critical Theory, it identifies as its key limitation the under-developed nature of its cosmopolitan imagination and its lack of reflection on the importance of relations of intersubjectivity in world politics. This book will be of interest to students and scholars of International Relations, International Critical Theory and Political Philosophy.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...