Kings and Emperors An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 1/5/2016
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $59!
    Your order must be $59 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $17.99 Save up to $3.60
  • Rent Book $14.39
    Add to Cart Free Shipping


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.


“Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O’Brian and Forester.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

In Dewey Lambdin's Kings and Emperors, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is still in Gibraltar, his raids along the coast of southern Spain shot to a halt. He is reduced to commanding a clutch of harbor defense gunboats in the bay while his ship, HMS Sapphire, slowly grounds herself on a reef of beef bones! Until Napoleon Bonaparte’s invasion of Portugal and his march into Spain change everything, freeing Sapphire to roam against the king’s enemies once more!

As kings are overthrown and popular uprisings break out across Spain, Lewrie’s right back in the action, ferrying weapons to arm Spanish patriots, scouting the impregnable fort of Ceuta, escorting the advance units of British expeditionary armies to aid the Spanish, and even going ashore to witness the first battles between Sir Arthur Wellesley, later the Duke of Wellington, and Napoleon’s best marshals, as the long Peninsular War that broke Imperial France begins to unfold.

From Cádiz to La Coruña, Lewrie and Sapphire will be there as history explodes!

Rewards Program

Write a Review