CART

(0) items

Low Life,9780230746831

Low Life

by Unknown
ISBN13:

9780230746831

ISBN10:
0230746837
Format:
Trade Paper
Pub. Date:
4/1/2013
Publisher(s):
Pan Macmillan
List Price: $12.95
More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $10.21
See Prices

Rent Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

eBook

We're Sorry
Not Available

New Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Summary

Combining gritty noir, psychological drama, and dazzling plotting, this shocking novel from the author of The Dispatcherand Good Neighborsannounces Jahn as a brilliant new American voice, perfect for fans of Auster and Ellroy When Simon Johnson is attacked in his crummy Los Angeles apartment, he knows he must defend himself or die. Turning on the lights after the scuffle, Simon realizes two things: one, he has killed his attacker; two, the resemblance of the man to himself is uncanny. Over the coming days, Simon's lonely life will spiral out of control. With his pet goldfish Francine in tow, he embarks on a gripping existential investigation into his own murky past as well as that of Jeremy Shackleford, the (apparently) happily married math teacher whose body is now lying in Simon's bathtub under 40 gallons of ice. But Simon has a plan. Gradually, he begins to assume the dead man's identity, fooling Shackleford's colleagues, and even his beautiful wife. However, when mysterious messages appear on the walls around Simon's apartment, he realizes that losing his old self will be more difficult than he'd imagined. Everything points to a long forgotten date the previous spring when his life and Shackleford's first collided. As the contradictions mount, and the ice begins to melt, the events of the past year will resolve themselves in the most catastrophic way.

Author Biography

Ryan David Jahn published his first novel, the CWA John Creasey Dagger-winning Acts of Violence, in 2009, and has since published two others, Low Life and The Dispatcher. He lives in Lousville, Kentucky.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...