CART

(0) items

Mozart in the Jungle Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music

by
Edition:
Reprint
ISBN13:

9780802142535

ISBN10:
0802142532
Format:
Paperback
Pub. Date:
6/8/2006
Publisher(s):
Grove/Atlantic Inc
List Price: $16.00

Buy New Book

In Stock Usually Ships in 24-48 Hours
$13.48

eBook


 
Duration
Price
$16.80

Rent Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $6.06

Questions About This Book?

What version or edition is this?
This is the Reprint edition with a publication date of 6/8/2006.
What is included with this book?
  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any CDs, lab manuals, study guides, etc.
  • The eBook copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically only the book itself is included.

Related Products


  • Mozart in the Jungle Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
    Mozart in the Jungle Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music





Summary

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician—from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions— working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Author Biography

Blair Tindall is a regular contributor to The New York Times, Sierra Magazine, and the San Francisco Examiner; her work has also appeared in The Wall Street Journal and Art & Antiques. The recipient of a MacDowell Fellowship, Tindall holds an M.A. in journalism from Stanford University. She lives in Los Angeles, CA.

Table of Contents

Prelude 1(6)
First Movement: Appassionata Sonata
One The Magic Flute
7(12)
Two Cunning Little Vixen
19(21)
Three The Prodigy
40(7)
Four New World Symphony
47(11)
Five Apollo's Flophouse
58(9)
Six Elixir of Love
67(12)
Seven The Rite of Spring
79(13)
Eight A Midsummer Night's Dream
92(14)
Nine The Damnation of Faust
106(13)
Second. Movement: Rhapsody in Blue
Ten West Side Story
119(11)
Eleven Mozart in the Jungle
130(20)
Twelve Twilight of the Gods
150(9)
Thirteen Danse Macabre
159(11)
Fourteen Unfinished Symphony
170(21)
Fifteen The Pits
191(14)
Sixteen Beggar's Opera
205(16)
Seventeen The Age of Anxiety
221(16)
Third Movement: Symphonic Metamorphoses
Eighteen Airlift from Saigon
237(11)
Nineteen Smoke and Mirrors
248(7)
Twenty Les Miserables
255(11)
Twenty-one The Medieval Baebe
266(11)
Twenty-two Music of the Heart
277(14)
Encore: The Lark Ascending 291(18)
Acknowledgments 309(2)
Notes 311(6)
Bibliography 317


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...