9781848316607

The Persuaders The Hidden Industry That Wants to Change Your Mind

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781848316607

  • ISBN10:

    1848316607

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 6/14/2016
  • Publisher: Icon Books

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $59!
    Your order must be $59 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $22.95 Save up to $3.44
  • Rent Book $20.66
    Add to Cart Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

In a philosophical polemic in the tradition of On Bullshit, James Garvey mourns the death of proper debate and reminds us of the value of rational argument. Philosopher James Garvey—described by the Guardian as having "a delicious style, often very funny, and a trick of ushering the reader right inside his thought experiments"—writes clearly and entertainingly about the dangers we face when we lose our grip on persuasion by rational means.

But The Persuaders isn't just a requiem for rationality. It's a call to think again about the way we think now.

Author Biography

James Garvey works for the Royal Institute of Philosophy and edits The Philosophers’ Magazine. He is author of a number of books, including The Story of Philosophy (with Jeremy Stangroom) and The Ethics of Climate Change. He’s written for the Guardian, The Times Literary Supplement, the Huffington Post, the New Statesman, and the Times Higher Education Supplement, does voluntary work for Thames Reach and Crisis, teaches jiu jitsu, and is an enthusiastic cyclist.

Rewards Program

Write a Review