9781590201428

The Republic of Vengeance

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781590201428

  • ISBN10:

    1590201426

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2009-02-05
  • Publisher: Overlook Pr
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $25.95 Save up to $3.89
  • Buy New
    $22.06

    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

An exceptional debut in the tradition of Mary Renault and Steven Pressfield. A consuming story of love, loss, and redemption set in the classical world of Rome and Greece, The Republic of Vengeance is the story of a young man's pursuit of his father's murderer and of the values and qualities he develops that will make him a man-a man capable of a deep, noble, and enduring love. At the end of the third century B.C., as Republican Rome's long war with Carthage was at last drawing to a close, it was already threatened by a new enemy, Philip, the tyrant king of Macedon in the east. Into this turbulent world emerges our Roman hero, Marcus, whose father is brutally murdered by pirates on a journey from Italy to Corfu on a visit to his uncle. Fate takes him to some of the great cities of the Greco-Roman world at a time of major turbulence, where he learns much and finds love unexpectedly. This debut novel explores political and philosophical questions that are as timeless as democracy and tyranny, war and self-defense, right and duty, as well as questions of love, loyalty, and betrayal. In the tradition of Mary Renault, Steven Pressfield, and Robert Graves, The Republic of Vengeance is a remarkable, beautifully written work of love, loss, and redemption.

Author Biography

Paul Waters is a well-traveled classicist, and though educated in Britain, he has lived much of his life abroad in Africa, America, Greece among other places. He now writes full time. The Republic of Vengeance is the first book in an epic series.

Rewards Program

Write a Review