CART

(0) items

Riding With Reindeer: A Bicycle Odyssey Through Finland, Lapland, and Arctic Norway,9780976328810

Riding With Reindeer: A Bicycle Odyssey Through Finland, Lapland, and Arctic Norway

by
ISBN13:

9780976328810

ISBN10:
097632881X
Media:
Paperback
Pub. Date:
6/1/2010
Publisher(s):
Rivendell Pub Nw
List Price: $15.95

Rent Book

(Recommended)
 
Term
Due
Price
$10.37

Buy New Book

In Stock Usually Ships in 24 Hours
$11.91

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

eBook

We're Sorry
Not Available

More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $18.73

Questions About This Book?

Why should I rent this book?
Renting is easy, fast, and cheap! Renting from eCampus.com can save you hundreds of dollars compared to the cost of new or used books each semester. At the end of the semester, simply ship the book back to us with a free UPS shipping label! No need to worry about selling it back.
How do rental returns work?
Returning books is as easy as possible. As your rental due date approaches, we will email you several courtesy reminders. When you are ready to return, you can print a free UPS shipping label from our website at any time. Then, just return the book to your UPS driver or any staffed UPS location. You can even use the same box we shipped it in!
What version or edition is this?
This is the edition with a publication date of 6/1/2010.
What is included with this book?
  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any CDs, lab manuals, study guides, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. You may receive a brand new copy, but typically, only the book itself.

Summary

In the summer of 2007, Robert Goldstein departs Helsinki on a self-supported bicycle epic across Finland with the goal of pedaling to the Barents Sea. Aboard a folding bicycle towing a wagon, he weathers furious storms, survives a near-disastrous accident and obsesses whether he will be eaten by a bear as he makes his way through the remote forests of Eastern Finland. In sparsely populated Lapland, his solitude is relieved by reindeer who become his constant companions as he slowly makes his way through the Arctic.More than a travelogue, Riding with Reindeer intersperses an often humorous narrative about the author's adventures (he manages to get trapped in the women's shower in one remote village) with rich cultural and historical anecdotes as he passes through endless forests littered with rotted fortifications, rusted tanks and mass graves-the detritus of Finland's desperate defense against a massive Soviet invasion in the winter of 1939. Riding with Reindeer gives insight into the mind of the solitary traveler and into the soul of a country whose honest and resourceful yet often taciturn citizens are always willing to lend a helping hand to the stranger on the little blue bicycle gamely grinding his way through their "Suomi" - literally "the end of the land."

Author Biography

The author, a former journalist, is the Chief Financial Officer of the Kitsap Regional Library, Kitsap County, Wa. He lives in Seattle. His first book, The Gentleman from Finland Adventures on the Trans-Siberian Express, won critical acclaim from Library book reviewer Nancy Pearl who called it a perfect read for fans of Paul Theroux and Bill Bryson's travel memoirs.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...