Rodney Smith Photographs

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 10/4/2016
  • Publisher: Seven Editions

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $59!
    Your order must be $59 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $75.00 Save up to $26.25
  • Rent Book $48.75
    Add to Cart Free Shipping


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.


In the tradition of Richard Avedon and Irving Penn, Rodney Smith has a signature, timeless style. This dazzling collection celebrates 50 years of Smith’s photography. 
Rodney Smith bridges the gap between commercial photography and art, between the real world we live in and the artist’s world of the imagination. His images—silhouettes and skylines, a man in a hat, elegant women in lush gardens—are by now familiar to us. Rodney Smith Photographs presents the man behind the photographs. A selection of pictures spanning four decades, organized thematically, stand alongside personal reflections drawn from Smith’s popular blog. It reveals that the photographer’s signature style is the product of his unusual background, his unique perspective, and his many years of self-analysis: in short, Smith’s photographs are also pictures of their creator.

Author Biography

Rodney Smith has been making pictures for nearly half a century. He found his calling while an undergraduate at the University of Virginia, but he did his graduate work at Yale in theology and art—training that he parlayed into a fellowship in Jerusalem, where he took the photos that would become his first book, In the Land of Light (Houghton Mifflin). After his return to the United States, he broke into the world of portrait photography, making his mark as a sought-after fashion photographer and artist. Throughout it all, he has retained his signature aesthetic and his sense of humor. His personality is of another era, his style is timeless, and he only shoots film. Smith’s books include The End (Seven Editions), The Book of Books (Smart Papers), and The Hat Book (Doubleday). He lives in Palisades, NY, with his wife.

Rewards Program

Write a Review