CART

(0) items

What Are You Looking At? The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art,9780142180297

What Are You Looking At? The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

by
Edition:
Reprint
ISBN13:

9780142180297

ISBN10:
0142180297
Format:
Paperback
Pub. Date:
9/24/2013
Publisher(s):
Plume
List Price: $20.00

Rent Book

(Recommended)
 
Term
Due
Price
$13.00

Buy New Book

In Stock Usually Ships in 24 Hours
N9780142180297
$14.93

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

eBook

We're Sorry
Not Available

More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $1.66
See Prices

Questions About This Book?

Why should I rent this book?
Renting is easy, fast, and cheap! Renting from eCampus.com can save you hundreds of dollars compared to the cost of new or used books each semester. At the end of the semester, simply ship the book back to us with a free UPS shipping label! No need to worry about selling it back.
How do rental returns work?
Returning books is as easy as possible. As your rental due date approaches, we will email you several courtesy reminders. When you are ready to return, you can print a free UPS shipping label from our website at any time. Then, just return the book to your UPS driver or any staffed UPS location. You can even use the same box we shipped it in!
What version or edition is this?
This is the Reprint edition with a publication date of 9/24/2013.
What is included with this book?
  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any CDs, lab manuals, study guides, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. You may receive a brand new copy, but typically, only the book itself.

Summary

In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humor

Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, "Is this art?" A former director at London's Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art's exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art—and why a five-year-old couldn't really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they’re looking at.

Author Biography

Will Gompertz writes, presents, and produces programs about the arts for the BBC. He lives in Oxford, England.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...