Anarchy Evolution

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2010-09-28
  • Publisher: It Books
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $22.99


Most people know Greg Graffin as the lead singer of the punk band Bad Religion, but few know that he also received a Ph.D. from Cornell University and teaches evolution at UCLA. In "Anarchy Evolution," Graffin argues that art and science have a deep connection. As an adolescent growing up when "drugs, sex, and trouble could be had on any given night," Graffin discovered that the study of evolution provided a framework through which he could make sense of the world. In this provocative and personal book, Graffin describes his own coming of age as an artist, as well as the formation of his naturalist worldview on questions involving God, science, and human meaning. While the fight between religion and science is often displayed in the starkest of terms, "Anarchy Evolution" provides fresh and nuanced insights into the long-standing debates about atheism and the human condition. It is a book for anyone who has ever wondered if God really exists.

Table of Contents

The Problem with Authorityp. 1
Making Sense of Lifep. 21
The False Idol of Natural Selectionp. 51
The False Idol of Atheismp. 91
Tragedy: The Construction of a Worldviewp. 117
Creativity, Not Creationp. 141
Where Faith Belongsp. 181
Believe Wiselyp. 209
A Meaningful Afterlifep. 237
Acknowledgmentsp. 253
Notesp. 257
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review