CART

(0) items

Chuckwalla Land : The Riddle of California's Desert,9780520256163

Chuckwalla Land : The Riddle of California's Desert

by
ISBN13:

9780520256163

ISBN10:
0520256166
Media:
Hardcover
Pub. Date:
5/5/2011
Publisher(s):
Univ of California Pr
List Price: $36.95

Rent Textbook

(Recommended)
 
Term
Due
Price
$29.56

Buy New Textbook

Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days
$36.03

eTextbook

Downloadable Offline Access
Lifetime Access
$30.45

Used Textbook

We're Sorry
Sold Out

More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $43.54

Questions About This Book?

Why should I rent this book?
Renting is easy, fast, and cheap! Renting from eCampus.com can save you hundreds of dollars compared to the cost of new or used books each semester. At the end of the semester, simply ship the book back to us with a free UPS shipping label! No need to worry about selling it back.
How do rental returns work?
Returning books is as easy as possible. As your rental due date approaches, we will email you several courtesy reminders. When you are ready to return, you can print a free UPS shipping label from our website at any time. Then, just return the book to your UPS driver or any staffed UPS location. You can even use the same box we shipped it in!
What version or edition is this?
This is the edition with a publication date of 5/5/2011.
What is included with this book?
  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any CDs, lab manuals, study guides, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. You may receive a brand new copy, but typically, only the book itself.

Summary

Described as "a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers" by theSan Francisco Chronicle, David Rains Wallace turns his attention in this new book to another distinctive corner of California--its desert, the driest and hottest environment in North America. Drawing from his frequent forays to Death Valley, Red Rock Canyon, Kelso Dunes, and other locales, Wallace illuminates the desert's intriguing flora and fauna as he explores a controversial, unresolved scientific debate about the origin and evolution of its unusual ecosystems. Eminent scientists and scholars appear throughout these pages, including maverick paleobiologist Daniel Axelrod, botanist Ledyard Stebbins, and naturalists Edmund Jaeger and Joseph Wood Krutch. Weaving together ecology, geology, natural history, and mythology in his characteristically eloquent voice, Wallace reveals that there is more to this starkly beautiful landscape than meets the eye.

Table of Contents

Prologue. Bushes and Lizardsp. xi
A Sphinx in Arcadyp. 1
The Country of Dried Skinp. 6
A Cactus Heresyp. 11
The Creator's Dumping Groundp. 16
An Evolutionary Backwaterp. 21
Anti-Darwinian Lacertiliansp. 26
Descriptive Confusionp. 34
A Murderous Broodp. 40
Hopeful Monstersp. 50
An Old Earth-Featurep. 55
A Climatic Accidentp. 61
An Evolutionary Frontierp. 69
A Neo-Darwinian Galapagosp. 75
Mexican Genesesp. 81
Desert Relictsp. 87
Madro-Tertiary Attitudesp. 95
A Friendly Landp. 100
Furry Paleontologistsp. 109
Dawn Horses and Dinosaursp. 117
Axelrod Antagonistesp. 122
The Midday Sunp. 129
Lacertilian Ambiguitiesp. 139
Xerothermic Invasionsp. 146
Sand Swimmersp. 151
Axelrod Ascendantp. 156
An Evolutionary Museump. 160
The Riddle of the Palmsp. 165
Bushes and Camelsp. 173
Axelrod Askewp. 180
Paradigms Postponedp. 187
The Falcon and the Shrikesp. 194
Epilogue. The Sphinx's Lairp. 203
Notesp. 211
Selected Bibliographyp. 229
Indexp. 241
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...