Fifty Contemporary Choreographers

by ;
  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Edition: 2nd
  • Format: Nonspecific Binding
  • Copyright: 2011-04-20
  • Publisher: Routledge
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $38.95 Save up to $5.84
  • Buy New


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.


A unique and authoritative guide to the lives and work of prominent living contemporary choreographers, this fully updated new edition includes many new names in the field of choreography, alongside those considered masters of the modern age. Representing a wide range of dance genres, each entry locates the individual in the context of modern dance theatre and explores their impact. Those studied include: Jerome Bel Richard Alston Doug Varone William Forsyth Phillippe Decoufle Jawole Willa Jo Zollar Ohad Naharin Itzik Gallili Twyla Tharp Wim Vandekeybus With a new, updated introduction by Deborah Jowitt and further reading and references throughout, this text is an invaluable resource for all students and critics of dance, and all those interested in the fascinating world of choreography.

Table of Contents

Choreographers covered are: Richard Alston Lea Anderson Pina Bausch Laurie Booth Matthew Bourne Trisha Brown Christopher Bruce Jonathan Burrows Rosemary Butcher Carolyn Carlson Lucinda Childs Michael Clark Robert Cohan Merce Cunningham Sioban Davies Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker Laura Dean Douglas Dunn Eiko Koma Mats Ek Garth Fagan Eliot Field William Forsythe Jean-Claude Gallotta David Gordon Bill T. Jones James Kudelka Jiri Kylian Daniel Larrieu Murray Lewis Lar Lubovitch Maguy Marin Susan Marshall Bebe Miller Meredith Monk Mark Morris Graeme Murphy Lloyd Newson Robert North Steve Paxton Stephen Petronio Pilobolus Ian Spink Elizabeth Streb Kei Takei Paul Taylor Glen Tetley Twyla Tharp

Rewards Program

Write a Review