From Kant to Hilbert Volume 2

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2007-10-12
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $115.00 Save up to $11.50
  • Rent Book $103.50
    Add to Cart Free Shipping


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?


Immanuel Kant's Critique of Pure Reason is widely taken to be the starting point of the modern period of mathematics while David Hilbert was the last great mainstream mathematician to pursue importatn nineteenth century ideas. This two-volume work provides an overview of this important era of mathematical research through a carefully chosen selection of articles. They provide an insight into the foundations of each of the main branches of mathematics - algebra, geometry, number theory, analysis, logic, and set theory - with narratives to show how they are linked. Classic works by Bolzano, Riemann, Hamilton, Dedekind, and Poincare are reproduced in reliable translations and many selections from writers such as Gauss, Cantor, Kronecher, and Zermelo are here translated for the first time. The collection is an invaluable source for anyone wishing to gain an understanding of the foundation of modern mathematics.

Author Biography

William Bragg Ewald is Professor of Law and Philosophy at The University of Pennsylvania.

Table of Contents

Georg Friedrich Bernhard Riemann (1826-1866)
Hermann von Helmholtz (1821-1894)
Julius Wilhelm Richard Dedekind (1831-1916)
Georg Cantor (1845-1918)
Leopold Kronecker (1823-1891)
Christian Felix Klein (1849-1925)
Jules Henri Poincare (1854-1912)
The French analysts
David Hilbert (1862-1943)
Luitzen Egbertus Jean Brouwer (1881-1966)
Ernst Zermelo (1871-1953)
Godfrey Harold Hardy (1877-1947)
Nicolaus Bourbaki
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review