Getting Past What You'll Never Get over

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2012-10-01
  • Publisher: Fleming H Revell Co

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $13.99 Save up to $3.50
  • Buy Used


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?


When hard times strike, we look forward with longing to the day when we will "get over" the event and have closure. This is a difficult--often impossible--road to travel. There are some things in life that we must learn to live with because they will never truly go away for good. Despite that truth, there is life--rewarding and abundant life--after heartache and pain. With a pastor's heart, John F. Westfall leads wounded readers beyond their hurts and into a life of confidence, freedom, and secure joy. Sharing stories with wisdom, humor, and vulnerability, he shows how to move forward beyond fear, regret, guilt, anger, and bitterness into a life worth living.

Author Biography

John F. Westfall is founding pastor of Harbor Church, a creative new congregation in the Pacific Northwest, and has pastored churches in Washington, California, and Minnesota. A former radio show host, an ordained pastor, an adjunct professor at Fuller Theological Seminary, and a popular retreat and conference speaker, John lives in the Seattle area with his wife, Eileen, and their dog, Maggie, who appears to have a personality disorder.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgmentsp. 9
The "Get Over It" Fallacyp. 11
Baby Steps to a New Realityp. 23
The Myth of Normalp. 33
The Joy of Depressionp. 55
It Can't Happen Here!p. 69
Fear: The Tie That Bindsp. 83
Regret: The Heart's Bungee Cordp. 99
Guilt: The Great Immobilizerp. 111
Anger: Getting Mad without Going Madp. 129
Bitterness: Drinking Poison and Waiting for Others to Diep. 147
Life's Unfair-What Will We Do about It?p. 167
Walking in the Light while Living in the Shadowsp. 177
Glancing Back while Moving Forwardp. 197
Steps for the Journey: The ABCs of Self-Carep. 211
Notesp. 219
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review