9781119653967

Green Building Illustrated

by ;
  • ISBN13:

    9781119653967

  • ISBN10:

    1119653967

  • Edition: 2nd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2020-12-03
  • Publisher: Wiley

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
  • Buyback Icon We Buy This Book Back!
    In-Store Credit: $11.03
    Check/Direct Deposit: $10.50
    PayPal: $10.50
List Price: $53.28 Save up to $21.31
  • Rent Book $31.97
    Add to Cart Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE
    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-4 BUSINESS DAYS
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

FULLY ILLUSTRATED, UPDATED GUIDE TO THE STRATEGIC DESIGN OF GREEN BUILDINGS

In the tradition of Building Construction Illustrated, Francis D.K. Ching and Ian M. Shapiro offer a fully illustrated guide to the theory and practice of sustainable design. This guide provides architects, designers, and builders in the green design professional community a framework and detailed strategies for designing substantively green buildings. With a focus on sustainable sites, approaching and reaching net-zero energy, low and zero-water usage, minimum-impact materials and superior indoor environmental quality, this guide explains why we need to build green, as well as green building theory and advancements in the industry. This Second Edition includes: 
  • All-new case studies featuring geographically diverse buildings with proven zero energy performance
  • Expanded coverage of zero energy building design, as well as zero water and zero waste buildings
  • Practical guidance for the schematic design of high-performance buildings, heating and hot water system selection, building envelope details, and integrating renewable energy
  • Advanced strategies, such as the concept of shape efficiency, and the optimal location for stairwells in buildings
  • Additional strategies for affordability in green design and construction
  • Updated references to the latest codes and standards
This Second Edition of Green Building Illustrated is an excellent resource for professionals, students and those interested in the design and construction of sustainable buildings. 

Author Biography

FRANCIS D.K. CHING, is a leading global authority on architectural drawing. His numerous bestselling works have been translated into 20 languages and are regarded as classics for their renowned graphic presentation. He is Professor Emeritus at the University of Washington in Seattle.

IAN M. SHAPIRO, is the founder and co-owner of Taitem Engineering, an award-winning consulting firm he founded in 1989. He has been a visiting lecturer at Cornell University, Tompkins-Cortland Community College, and Syracuse University. He is also the author of Energy Audits and Improvements for Commercial Buildings (Wiley, 2016). Shapiro is a licensed engineer in New York, Pennsylvania, and Connecticut.

Table of Contents

Preface……vii

1 Introduction……1

2 First Principles……13

3 Codes and Standards……27

4 Community, Climate, and Site……43

5 Building Shape and Biomimicry……69

6 Near-Building Features……89

7 Outer Envelope……101

8 Unconditioned Spaces……133

9 Inner Envelope……147

10 Thermal Zoning and Compartmentalization……159

11 Lighting, Plug, and Process Loads……169

12 Hot and Cold Water……185

13 Indoor Environmental Quality……197

14 Heating and Cooling……217

15 Renewable Energy……237

16 Net-Zero Energy Design and Case Studies ……245

17 Materials……253

18 Schedules, Sequences, and Affordability……271

19 Quality in Green Design and Construction……281

20 Conclusion……303

 Glossary……309

 Bibliography……313

 Index……317

Rewards Program

Reviews for Green Building Illustrated (9781119653967)