A History of the English-Speaking Peoples Volume III The Age of Revolution

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2015-03-26
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $95.00 Save up to $2.85
  • Buy New
    Add to Cart Free Shipping


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.


"This history will endure; not only because Sir Winston has written it, but also because of its own inherent virtues - its narrative power, its fine judgment of war and politics, of soldiers and statesmen, and even more because it reflects a tradition of what Englishmen in the hey-day of their empire thought and felt about their country's past." The Daily Telegraph

Spanning four volumes and many centuries of history, from Caesar's invasion of Britain to the start of World War I, A History of the English-Speaking Peoples stands as one of Winston Churchill's most magnificent literary works. Begun during Churchill's 'wilderness years' when he was out of government, first published in 1956 after his leadership through the darkest days of World War II had cemented his place in history and completed when Churchill was in his 80s, it remains to this day a compelling and vivid history.

In The Age of Revolution the third volume of Churchill's history Churchill charts the rise of Great Britain as a world power and the long rivalry with France, the shadow of the French Revolution, the rise of Napoleon and his defeat at Waterloo. The volume also covers the rise of the American colonies, their triumphant overthrow of British rule in the War of Independence and the first great generation of American leaders: Washington, Adams and Jefferson.

Author Biography

Sir Winston S. Churchill (1874-1965) was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom on two occasions, from 1940-1945 and again from 1951 to 1955. Celebrated as one of the greatest leaders of the twentieth century, he was also a gifted orator, statesman and historian. The author of more than 40 books, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1953 and in 1963 was made an honorary citizen of the United States.

Table of Contents

Maps and Genealogical Tables
Book VII: England's Advance to World Power
1. William of Orange
2. Continental War
3. The Spanish Succession
4. Marlborough: Blenheim and Ramillies
5. Oudenrade and Malplaquet
6. The Treaty of Utrecht
Book VIII: The First British Empire
1. The House of Hanover
2. Sir Robert Walpole
3. The Austrian Succession and the "Forty-Five"
4. The American Colonies
5. The First World War
6. The Quarrel with America
7. The War of Independence
8. The United States
9. The Indian Empire
Book IX: Napoleon
1. The Younger Pitt
2. The American Constitution
3. The French Revolution
4. France Confronted
5. Trafalgar
6. The Emperor of the French
7. The Peninsular War and the Fall of Napoleon
8. Washington, Adams and Jefferson
9. The War of 1812
10. Elba and Waterloo

Rewards Program

Write a Review