9788466331050

La casa de Riverton/ The House at Riverton

by
  • ISBN13:

    9788466331050

  • ISBN10:

    8466331050

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2020-01-21
  • Publisher: Debolsillo

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $14.95 Save up to $1.49
  • Rent Book $13.46
    Add to Cart Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE
    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

Magnífico retrato de los últimos esplendores de la aristocracia inglesa, un mundo de convenciones y secretos atravesado por vehementes pasiones y terribles desengaños.

Verano de 1924. Durante una rutilante fiesta de la alta sociedad en Riverton Manor, una preciosa mansión a orillas de un lago, un joven y prometedor poeta se quita la vida. Las únicas testigos de ese dramático hecho, las hermanas Hannah y Emmeline Hartford, no se volverán a hablar nunca más.

Invierno de 1999. Grace Bradley, una anciana de noventa y ocho años que otrora fuera doncella en Riverton Manor recibe la visita de una joven directora de cine que está rodando una película sobre el suicidio del poeta. Esa visita convoca los fantasmas del pasado, recuerdos que durante décadas Grace había relegado a lo más profundo de su mente, incapaz de enfrentarse a ellos.

ENGLISH DESCRIPTION

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they—and Grace—know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets—some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Kate Morton’s first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters—and an ending—readers won't soon forget.

Author Biography

Kate Morton creció en las montañas del noreste de Australia, en Queensland, y en la actualidad reparte su tiempo entre Londres y su granja australiana. Es licenciada en arte dramático y literatura inglesa y albergó el sueño de unirse a la Royal Shakespeare Company hasta que se dio cuenta de que, en realidad, más que actuar, lo que la entusiasmaba era el lenguaje. Aún así, Kate sigue sintiendo una punzada de nostalgia cada vez que va al teatro y las luces comienzan a atenuarse.
Ha vendido más de 11.000.000 de ejemplares y ha sido traducida a 34 idiomas y publicada en 42 países. La casa de RivertonEl jardín olvidadoLas horas distantesEl cumpleaños secretoEl último adiós y La hija del relojero se han convertido en número uno de ventas en todo el mundo.

Rewards Program

Reviews for La casa de Riverton/ The House at Riverton (9788466331050)