Lies to Live by

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2003-06-01
  • Publisher: Michigan State Univ Pr

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $19.95 Save up to $4.99
  • Buy Used


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?


Lies To Live By brings together two selections of stories by Ojibwe storyteller Lois Beardslee. Lies to Live By, a series of interdependent tales, reflects the storyteller#x19;s role in interpreting traditional stories for contemporary audiences, while preserving traditions based not in mysticism but in pragmatism. In "Calm Days," three generations -- the narrator, her grandfather, and her son -- spend a week together on a remote island during the course of which they demonstrate the continuity of Ojibwe life. Together these stories weave the contemporary and the traditional to show how cultural diversity can be preserved even as cultural boundaries are transcended.

Author Biography

Lois Beardslee has been a teacher and writer for twenty-five years. She is also an accomplished artist, whose works are in public and private collections worldwide. Lois Beardslee practices many traditional art forms, including birch bark biting, quillwork, and sweetgrass basketry, as well as painting and illustration

Table of Contents

Introductionp. vii
Lies to Live Byp. 1
Dibawjimot, the Storytellerp. 3
Minanp. 5
Keepers of the Waterp. 7
Sneaking Up on a Fishp. 9
Big Waterp. 11
Icep. 14
The Origins of the First Ice Fishing Shantyp. 16
Inhaling the Nightp. 18
Birch Bark Bitingp. 21
Bebookwedagaminhp. 24
Dreamcatchersp. 25
In Pursuit of Shiigun, the Bassp. 27
Chiibii Tagp. 31
Siisagwadp. 33
Charlie's Bundlep. 35
Manaboozhou and the Ducksp. 38
The Devil's Chairp. 42
Fine Weather for Paintingp. 47
Niimik Niigikp. 50
Why Are You Sleeping on a Nice Day Like This?p. 52
Don't Judge a Book By its Coverp. 54
Finsp. 59
Indian Mission Churchp. 62
That Wonderful Thingp. 67
The Winona Dilemmap. 70
Calm Daysp. 75
One End of the Boatp. 77
Fried Eggsp. 79
The Little People of the North Woodsp. 82
The Storeroomp. 86
My Favorite Fishp. 90
The Drump. 95
Superior's Giftsp. 97
The Logp. 99
Biboonp. 102
Fog Paints the Landscapep. 107
The Trout Lakep. 110
Manaboozhou's Basketp. 114
The Michikiniibigagp. 119
Laundry Dayp. 121
Flowers and Kissesp. 124
Flying Pigsp. 127
Shampoo Soupp. 133
Quiet Timep. 136
When Stones Walk the Earthp. 141
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review