9781946764645

Moments of Joy

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781946764645

  • ISBN10:

    1946764647

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2020-10-27
  • Publisher: Parallax Pr

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $16.95 Save up to $1.69
  • Rent Book $15.26
    Add to Cart Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE
    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

The first full-length collection of poems from contemplative Buddhist nun Sister Jina van Hengel, each short verse radiates the energy of a single moment of awareness.

Like a master gardener, over the years the revered Zen teacher Thich Nhat Hanh has cultivated a host of brilliant monastics in the Plum Village Community of Engaged Buddhism. Living simply and practicing deeply for many years in the French countryside, Sister Jina van Hengel is one of Plum Village's most beloved senior Dharma teachers, known for her embodiment of the teachings, her warmth of character, and her Zen poetry.

For readers of natural contemplatives in the vein of Mary Oliver, Thomas Merton, and, of course, Thich Nhat Hanh, these poems teach us to savor everyday life with awareness and gratitude.

Author Biography

Known for the depth of her insight and her gentle, illuminating teaching style, Sister Jina was ordained as a Zen nun in 1985 in Japan. She received full ordination as a bhikshuni as well as authorization to teach from Thich Nhat Hanh in 1992. Sister Jina, who served her monastery as an abbess for 16 years, is deeply beloved in the Thich Nhat Hanh community for her profound insight and her embodiment of Zen teachings. Moments of Joy is the first full-length collection of her contemplative poems, each short verse radiating the energy of a single moment of awareness. Rich in images from the natural world, Sister Jina's poetry also expresses a keen sense of emotional honesty.

Rewards Program

Write a Review