9781524773755

Once upon a Goat

by ;
  • ISBN13:

    9781524773755

  • ISBN10:

    1524773751

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2019-08-27
  • Publisher: Alfred a Knopf Inc

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $20.99 Save up to $8.40
  • Rent Book $12.59
    Add to Cart Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE
    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

A twisted fairy tale about a king and queen who wish for a child of their own . . . and end up with a baby goat. Perfect for readers of Children Make Terrible Pets and Wolfie the Bunny.

"A funny and redemptive fairy tale."--The Wall Street Journal


Once upon a time, a very prim and proper king and queen begged their fairy godmother for a child. They'd prefer a boy, with glowing skin, bright eyes, and two roses for lips . . . but any kid will do. When they find themselves gifted with a baby goat (also known as a kid) instead, they can't imagine how he'll fit into their lives. But of course, it isn't long before he's part of the royal family.

Readers will delight in this story's hilarity, confusion, and celebration of families that come in every shape and size.

"A fresh, amusing, kindhearted picture book."--Booklist, Starred review
"With its gentle morals of acceptance, not judging by appearances, and being open to outcomes different than expectations, this is a lovely family read-aloud."--Kirkus
"The contrast between the royal couple's once-ordered existence and the cheerful mess at book's end is very funny, and the message about acceptance and the expanded definition of family is a bonus."--Horn Book

Author Biography

Dan Richards is a graduate of the University of Washington's Writing for Children Program, where he wrote his debut picture book, The Problem with NOT Being Scared of Monsters (Boyds Mills Press). He is also the author of Can One Balloon Make an Elephant Fly? (Simon & Schuster).

Dan loves telling stories and talking about the craft of writing. School visits make him happy. He lives with his family in Bothell, WA. Learn more about Dan at danrichardsbooks.com or on Twitter at @author_dan.

Eric Barclay is an illustrator, designer, and the author of I Can See Just Fine (Abrams), Hiding Phil (Scholastic), and Counting Dogs (Scholastic). Classic cartoons, modern art, mid-century design, and everyday mishaps heavily influence his style. He's had the privilege of illustrating for Abrams, American Greetings, Disneyland Paris, Hallmark, Highlights magazine, Friend magazine, Scholastic, Westin Kids Club, Papyrus, and many others. He lives in Texas with his wife, two daughters, a dog, and two cats. Learn more about Eric and his work at EricBarclay.com or on Twitter at @EricBarclay.

Rewards Program

Reviews for Once upon a Goat (9781524773755)