IMPORTANT COVID-19 UPDATES

9781786154972

A Plague on Mr Pepys

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781786154972

  • ISBN10:

    1786154978

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2021-10-12
  • Publisher: Headline Accent
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $15.99 Save up to $0.80
  • Buy New
    $15.19

    NOT YET PRINTED. PLACE AN ORDER AND WE WILL SHIP IT AS SOON AS IT ARRIVES.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Anne O'Brien and Elizabeth Chadwick, Deborah Swift brings a unique period in history to vivid, fascinating life in her acclaimed Pepys trilogy.

'An immersive and rich imagining of a mysterious woman from Pepys' life that will hold readers until the very end' Historical Novel Society

'A novel that transports readers with astonishing and engrossing detail'Readers' Favorite 5*

1665 and The Great Plague has London in its grip.

As the summer heat rises, red crosses mark the doors, and wealthy citizens flee. Only the poor remain to face the march of death...

Ambitious and attractive Bess Bagwell is determined her carpenter husband, Will, should make a name for himself. So she schemes to meet Samuel Pepys, diarist, friend of the King, and an important man in the Navy shipyards.

But Pepys has his own motive for cultivating Bess, and it is certainly not to benefit her husband.

With pestilence rife in the city, all trade ceases. Will is forced to invest in his unscrupulous cousin Jack's dubious 'cure' for the pestilence. But this only horrifies Bess and leaves them deeper in debt. Now they are desperate for money, and the dread disease is moving ever closer. Pepys's help seems to be the only answer.

But as with all bargains, there's a price to pay. A price that could cost more than Bess has to give.

The second in Deborah Swift's atmospheric trilogy, bringing to life the women in Pepys' Diary. The books can be read in any order as each stands alone.

'An intriguing and exceptionally beautifully written book' Carol McGrath, author of The Woman in The Shadows

Praise for Pleasing Mr Pepys:

'Swift is a consummate historical novelist, basing her books on immaculate research and then filling the gaps between real events and real people with eloquent storytelling, atmospheric scene setting and imaginative plot lines' The Visitor

'Laced with emotional intensity and drama' Readers' Favorite

'Pepys and his world spring to vibrant life...Gripping, revealing and stunningly imagined, Pleasing Mr Pepys is guaranteed to please' Lancashire Evening Post

Don't miss Deborah Swift's other enthralling tales of Samuel Pepys - Pleasing Mr Pepys Pepys and Entertaining Mr Pepys - out now!

Author Biography

Deborah Swift is a historical novelist living on the edge of the Lake District, an area made famous by the Romantic Poets such as Wordsworth and Coleridge.

Before becoming a writer, she had a career as a scenographer and costume designer for theatre and BBC TV. Her first novel, The Lady's Slipper, was shortlisted for the Impress Prize, and she is the author of ten further historical novels including the Women of Pepys' Diary trilogy.

Find her at her website www.deborahswift.com.

Rewards Program

Write a Review