Political Science Volume 3: Indian Political Thought

by ; ;
  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2013-09-27
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $53.33


The third of a four-volume survey and explorations in political science conducted by the Indian Council of Social Science Research, this volume is a departure from the conventional approach of studying Indian political thought through political-intellectual biographies. It traces the paradigm shifts in the study of Indian political thought, from the initial dismissive Orientalist approach to the attempts by Indian scholars to elaborate ancient Indian political thought as a tradition and later on to multidisciplinary engagement with debates on a wide range of contemporary issues. It examines researches done on themes such as politics of time and knowledge; ideals of kingship in early political Indian thought; texts, practices, and material cultures in early and medieval Indian political thought; the debates on nationalism and the nation-state; cosmopolitanism; the idea of democracy in dalit, adivasi, and feminist discourses; and the relationship between ethics and politics. This volume provides a bibliographic guide on the subject and indicates the possible areas of future research.

Author Biography

Pradip Kumar Datta is Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Delhi, Delhi.

Sanjay Palshikar is Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad.

Achin Vanaik is Former Professor of International Relations, Department of Political Science, University of Delhi, Delhi.

Table of Contents

Foreword by Javeed Alam
List of Abbreviations
General Introduction (Achin Vanaik)
Introduction: Reframing Indian Political Thought (Pradip Kumar Datta and Sanjay Palshikar)
1. Time and Knowledge (Prathama Banerjee)
2. Revisiting Early Indian Political Thought: Texts, Practices, Material Culture (Kumkum Roy)
3. Revisiting Middle Period Political Thought: Texts, Practices, Material Culture (Nandita Prasad Sahai)
4. Nationalism (Rinku Lamba)
5. Cosmopolitanism: A Review of Literature in Indian Political Thought (Mohinder Singh)
6. Demystifying Democracy in the Dalit-Bahujan, Adivasi and Feminist Discourses (Krishna Swamy Dara)
7. Ethics and Politics (Rajarshi Dasgupta)
Notes on Contributors

Rewards Program

Write a Review