Popkiss The Life and Afterlife of Sarah Records

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Edition: 1st
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2015-11-19
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $24.95 Save up to $3.74
  • Buy New


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The eBook copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.


From 1987 to 1995, Bristol, England's Sarah Records was a modest underground success and, for the most part, a critical laughingstock in its native country-sneeringly dismissed as the sad, final repository for a fringe style of music (variously referred to as “indie-pop,” “C86,” “cutie” and “twee”) whose moment had passed. Yet now, more than 20 years after its founders symbolically “destroyed” it, Sarah is among the most passionately fetishized record labels of all time. Its rare releases command hundreds of dollars, devotees around the world hungrily seek out any information they can find about its poorly documented history, and young musicians-some of them not yet born when Sarah shut down-claim its bands (such as Blueboy, the Field Mice, Heavenly, and the Wake) as major influences.

Featuring dozens of exclusive interviews with the music-makers, producers, writers and assorted eyewitnesses who played a part in Sarah's eight-year odyssey, Popkiss: The Life and Afterlife of Sarah Records is the first authorised biography of an unlikely cult legend.

Author Biography

Michael White has been writing about popular and underground music, for publications in his native Canada and internationally, for 20 years.

Table of Contents

1. Lovesick: The Roots of Sarah Records
2. When Matt Met Clare
3. “Come to My World”: The Sea Urchins
4. “How Happy We Can Be”: The Orchids
5. “The Centre of My Little World”: Harvey Williams
6. “You Have Nothing to Live Up to”: The Field Mice, Northern Picture Library, and the Enigmatic Bobby Wratten
7. “I Am Telling You Because You Are Far Away”: Sarah Records’ Written Communiqués
8. “All of a Tremble”: St. Christopher
9. “I Sometimes Feel So Lost”: Brighter
10. “Lousy Pop Group”: The Wake
11. “She Says”: Heavenly
12. “Popkiss”: Blueboy and “the best album” Sarah released
13. “More Pop Songs”: The Hit Parade
14. “Toward the Sky”: Secret Shine
15. “If I Could Shine”: The Sweetest Ache
16. “Silent House”: The Harvest Ministers
17. Short-Term Visitors: 14 Iced Bears, Action Painting!, Boyracer, Christine’s Cat, Eternal, The Forever People, Gentle Despite, The Golden Dawn, Ivy, The Poppyheads, The Rosaries, Shelley, Tramway
18. Foreign Visitors: Aberdeen, East River Pipe, Even As We Speak, The Springfields, The Sugargliders
19. “A Day for Destroying Things…”: The End of Sarah
20. The Afterlife of Sarah

Rewards Program

Write a Review