The Seminole Nation of Oklahoma: A Legal History

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2010-06-21
  • Publisher: Univ of Oklahoma Pr

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $45.00 Save up to $4.50
  • Rent Book $40.50
    Add to Cart Free Shipping


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.


A dramatic story of survival and rebirth during the twentieth century

Table of Contents

List of Illustrationsp. ix
Series Editor's Forewordp. xi
Preface and Acknowledgmentsp. xiii
Abbreviationsp. xix
Introductionp. 3
Forces of Federal Law in Indian Territory, 1831-1898p. 7
Road to Statehood: The Impact of Federal Allotment Legislation, 1897-1907p. 40
Federal Stranglehold on Seminole Lands and Minerals, 1904-2002p. 58
Overview of Seminole Claims Cases against the United States, 1929-1990p. 92
Endeavoring to Persevere: Continuance of Seminole Government, 1906-1968p. 107
Seminole Nation Constitution, 1964-1969p. 133
New Beginnings: Administrations of Chiefs Terry Walker (1969-1972), Floyd Harjo (1972-1973), and Edwin Tanyan (1973-1977)p. 150
Self-Determination and Dissent: Administrations of Chiefs Richmond Tiger (1977-1978), Tom Palmer (1978-1981), and James Milam (1981-1985)p. 178
Reconstruction and Resource Development: Administrations of Chiefs Edwin Tanyan (1985-1989) and Jerry G. Haney (1989-1993)p. 202
Epiloguep. 231
Appendix: Seminole Nation General Council Election Results According to Band, 1969-1989p. 245
Notesp. 247
Bibliographyp. 297
Indexp. 321
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review