by ;
  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Edition: 50th
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2011-10-26
  • Publisher: Wesleyan Univ Pr
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $30.00


Silence, John Cage's first book and epic masterpiece, was published in October 1961. In these lectures, scores, and writings, Cage tries, as he says, to find a way of writing that comes from ideas, is not about them, but that produces them. Often these writings include mesostics and essays created by subjecting the work of other writers to chance procedures using the I Ching. Fifty years later comes a beautiful new edition with a foreword by eminent music critic Kyle Gann. A landmark book in American arts and culture, Silence has been translated into more than forty languages and has sold over half a million copies worldwide. Wesleyan University Press is proud to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the book's publication with this special hardcover edition.

Table of Contents

Foreword to 50th Anniversary Edition
The Future of Music: Credo
Experimental Music
Experimental Music: Doctrine
Composition as Process
To Describe the Process of Composition Used in Music of Changes and Imaginary Landscape No. 4
To Describe the Process of Composition Used in Music for Piano 21-52
Forerunners of Modern Music
History of Experimental Music in the United States
Erik Satie
Edgard Varese
Four Statements on the Dance
Goal: New Music, New Dance
Grace and Clarity
In This Day...
2 Pages, 122 Words on Music and Dance
On Robert Rauschenberg, Artist, and His Work
Lecture on Nothing
Lecture on Something
45' for a Speaker
Where Are We Going? and What Are We Doing?
Music Lovers' Field Companion
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review