The Strategic Nimzo-Indian: A Complete Guide to the Rubinstein and Variation

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2012-07-16
  • Publisher: Natl Book Network
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $29.95 Save up to $1.50
  • Buy New


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?


The Nimzo-Indian Defence continues to be one of the most important chess openings, an immensely popular choice both at club level as well as with almost all top players. It is a solid but flexible opening which gives rich tactical and positional play with winning chances for both sides.

In this ground-breaking and well-structured book, one of today's greatest Nimzo-Indian experts, Ivan Sokolov, presents a complete guide to the important 4.e3(Rubinstein) Variation and clearly explains the plans and counterplans for both sides.

The Rubinstein is the historical main line and the most consistently popular. It requires a through positional understanding and Sokolov, renowned author of Winning Chess Middlegames: An Essential Guide to Pawn Structures, clearly presents the ideas, structures and plans in the various continuations.

Besides in-depth explanations of strategy and concepts The Strategic Nimzo-Indian also contains quite a few new ideas and previously unknown resources for both Black and White. Ivan Sokolov not only provides you with crucial up-to-date information and strategic lessons in the Nimzo-Indian Defence; after studying this book you will have become a better allround chess player as well.

Author Biography

Ivan Sokolov is a top grandmaster who was born in Bosnia in 1968 and has been living in the Netherlands for many years. He was Yugoslav champion in 1988 and Dutch Champion in 1995 and 1998. In his rich career Sokolov has beaten world chess champions like Gary Kasparov, Vladimir Kramnik as well as Viswanathan Anand. His previous books include Winning Chess Middlegames and The Ruy Lopez Revisited.

Rewards Program

Write a Review