The UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women A Commentary

by ; ;
  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Edition: Reprint
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2013-08-24
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $70.00 Save up to $7.00
  • Rent Book $63.00
    Add to Cart Free Shipping


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Author Biography

Marsha A. Freeman, Senior Fellow, University of Minnesota Human Rights Center; Director, International Women's Rights Action Watch,Christine Chinkin, Professor of International Law, London School of Economics and Political Science; Professor of International Law, London School of Economics and Political Science;,Beate Rudolf, Director of the German Institute for Human Rights

Marsha A. Freeman is Director of the International Women's Rights Action Watch and a Senior Fellow at the University of Minnesota Human Rights Center. IWRAW is an international women's human rights resource centre and pioneered the shadow reporting to the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. Dr. Freeman is the editor of Assessing the Status of Women, a guide to using the CEDAW Convention, and author of Women's Economic, Cultural and Social Rights, a manual for working with the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. She teaches at the University of Minnesota Law School.

Christine Chinkin has law degrees from the universities of London and Sydney and Yale Law School. She has taught international law in Singapore, Australia and the United States as well as in the United Kingdom. She is a member of Matrix Chambers and the author of many articles on international human rights law, especially relating to women's human rights. She has been a consultant to the United Nations Division for the Advancement of Women and the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Since 1 January 2010, Professor Beate Rudolf has been the Director of the German Institute for Human Rights. Prior to that, she was a junior professor for public law and equality law at the faculty of law of Freie Universitat Berlin and director of the research project "Public International Law Standards for Governance in Weak and Failing States" within the Research Center "Governance in Areas of Limited Statehood". Her research focuses on human rights and legal principles on state structures under public international law, European law and German constitutional law as well as from a comparative law perspective.

Table of Contents

1. Introduction, Christine Chinkin and Marsha A. Freeman
2. Preamble, Christine Chinkin and Beate Rudolf
3. Article 1, Andrew Byrnes
4. Article 2, Andrew Byrnes
5. Article 3, Christine Chinkin
6. Article 4, Frances Raday
7. Article 5, Rikki Holtmaat
8. Article 6, Janie Chuang
9. Article 7, Sarah Wittkopp
10. Article 8, Sarah Wittkopp
11. Article 9, Savitri W.E. Goonesekere
12. Article 10, Fareda Banda
13. Article 11, Frances Raday
14. Article 12, Rebecca J. Cook and Veronica Undurraga
15. Article 13, Beate Rudolf
16. Article 14, Fareda Banda
17. Article 15, Savitri W.E. Goonesekere
18. Article 16, Marsha A. Freeman
19. Violence Against Women, Christine Chinkin
20. Article 17, Ineke Boerefijn
21. Article 18, Ineke Boerefijn
22. Article 19, Ineke Boerefijn
23. Article 20, Ineke Boerefijn
24. Article 21, Ineke Boerefijn
25. Article 22, Ineke Boerefijn
26. Article 23, Andrew Byrnes
27. Article 24, Andrew Byrnes
28. Article 25, Susann Kroworsch
29. Article 26, Susann Kroworsch
30. Article 27, Susann Kroworsch
31. Article 28, Jane Connors
32. Article 29, Susann Kroworsch
33. Article 30, Susann Kroworsch
34. Optional Protocol, Jane Connors

Rewards Program

Write a Review