CART

(0) items

Voyager : Seeking Newer Worlds in the Third Great Age of Discovery,9780670021833

Voyager : Seeking Newer Worlds in the Third Great Age of Discovery

by
ISBN13:

9780670021833

ISBN10:
0670021830
Media:
Hardcover
Pub. Date:
7/22/2010
Publisher(s):
Viking Adult
List Price: $29.95
More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $0.01

Rent Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

eBook

We're Sorry
Not Available

New Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Summary

A brilliant new account of the Voyager space program-its history, scientific impact, and cultural legacy Launched in 1977, the two unmanned Voyager spacecraft have completed their Grand Tour to the four outer planets, and they are now on course to become the first man-made objects to exit our solar system. To many, this remarkable achievement is the culmination of a golden age of American planetary exploration, begun in the wake of the 1957 Sputnik launch. More than this, Voyager may be one of the purest expressions of exploration in human history. For more than five hundred years the West has been powered by the impulse to explore, to push into a wider world. In this highly original book, Stephen Pyne recasts Voyager in the tradition of Magellan, Columbus, Cook, Lewis and Clark, and other landmark explorers. The Renaissance and Enlightenment-the First and Second Ages of Discovery- sent humans across continents and oceans to find new worlds. In the Third Age, expeditions have penetrated the Antarctic ice, reached the floors of the oceans, and traveled to the planets by new means, most spectacularly via semi-autonomous robot. Voyagerprobes how the themes of motive and reward are stunningly parallel through all three ages. Voyager, which gave us the first breathtaking images of Jupiter and Saturn, changed our sense of our own place in the universe.

Author Biography

Stephen J. Pyne is a Regents Professor in the School of Life Sciences, Arizona State University. An award-winning environmental historian, he is the author of Year of the Fires, The Ice and How the Canyon Became Grand. He is the recipient of the Robert Kirsch Award from the Los Angeles Times. He lives in Glendale, Arizona.

Table of Contents

Illustrationsp. xi
Mission Statement: Voyager of Discoveryp. xiii
The Beginning Of Beyond: Journey of an Ideap. 1
Escape Velocityp. 3
Grand Tourp. 11
Great Ages of Discoveryp. 35
Voyagerp. 52
Launchp. 68
Beyond The Sunset: Journey Across the Solar Systemp. 81
Beyond Earthp. 83
New Moonp. 85
Cruisep. 98
Missing Marsp. 110
Beyond the Inner Planetsp. 143
Cruisep. 145
Encounter: Asteroid Beltp. 154
Cruisep. 161
Encounter: Jupiterp. 169
Cruisep. 187
Encounter: Saturnp. 200
Cruisep. 232
Encounter: Uranusp. 243
Cruisep. 269
Encounter: Neptunep. 286
Cruisep. 303
Last Lightp. 312
Beyond The Utmost Bond: Journey To The Starsp. 317
Beyond Bow Shockp. 319
Voyager Interstellar Missionp. 321
Far Travelersp. 325
New Worlds, New Lawsp. 330
Beyond Narrativep. 339
Voyager's Voicep. 341
Voyager's Recordp. 347
Voyager's Returnsp. 356
Beyond Tomorrowp. 365
Afterwordp. 373
Appendixp. 377
Chronology of Major Lunar and Planetary Missionsp. 377
Status of Voyagers (August 2009)p. 380
The Grand Tour and Its Encountersp. 380
The Coldest Warp. 388
Notesp. 389
Sourcesp. 419
Indexp. 427
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...