9780486822525

What Katy Did

by
  • ISBN13:

    9780486822525

  • ISBN10:

    0486822524

  • Edition: Reprint
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2018-08-15
  • Publisher: Dover Publications
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $5.99 Save up to $0.90
  • Buy New
    $5.09

    NOT YET PRINTED. PLACE AN ORDER AND WE WILL SHIP IT AS SOON AS IT ARRIVES.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

Twelve-year-old Katy Carr has big plans for what she wants to do with her life. The oldest of six children, she's a natural leader with plenty of imagination who dreams of being an artist, saving lives, and leading crusades. She'd also like to help her father and aunt as they struggle to raise a rough-and-tumble crew of motherless children, but her stubbornness, quick temper, and mischievous nature trip her up time and again.
When a serious accident requires a long convalescence, Katy has a chance to think things over. Fortunately, her cousin Helen — who's well acquainted with the frustrations of being trapped in a sickroom — is on hand to inspire Katy and set an example of patience and generosity. Fans of Little Women and Anne of Green Gables will treasure this nostalgic tale of a spunky pre-teen growing up in nineteenth-century America and her discovery of how a positive attitude can transform bitterness and misery into love and happiness.

Author Biography

American author Sarah Chauncey Woolsey (1835–1905), who wrote under the pen name Susan Coolidge, is best known for her classic children's novel What Katy Did. Woolsey modeled the fictional Carr family on her own relatives and her heroine, Katy, on her childhood self. The book's popularity upon its 1872 publication led to four sequels.

Rewards Program

Write a Review