Winning Chess Brilliancies

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Edition: 3rd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 1999-10-01
  • Publisher: Microsoft Pr
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $19.99


This book by International Grandmaster Yasser Seirawan provides a move-by-move account of the best chess games of the last 25 years, played by the world's foremost chess competitors. With an authoritative voice that is by turns poetic and analytical, Seirawan serves as host of a fascinating excursion through a dozen of the most brilliant chess games, providing insights into and explanations of each and every move.

Author Biography

Yasser Seirawan is the highest-rated American chess professional on the Federation Internationale des Echecs (FIDE) rating ladder and the first American to vie for the World Championship title since Bobby Fischer. He is a three-time U.S. Champion, the 1989 Western Hemisphere Champion, and an eight-time member of the U.S. Chess Olympiad team. Currently one of the world's top-ranked chess players, he is one of only a handful of players to have defeated world champions Garry Kasparov and Anatoly Karpov in tournament play.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgmentsp. v
Introductionp. vii
Making Historyp. 1
Slaying the Dragonp. 27
Sparkling Originalityp. 49
Time-Trouble Miseryp. 71
A Sunny Momentp. 93
Olympian Effortp. 107
Experienced Handsp. 127
Supreme Effortp. 145
Moscow Miraclep. 165
A la Morphyp. 183
Lightning and Thunderp. 197
A Rapid Coupp. 219
Postscriptp. 243
Indexp. 245
About the Authorp. 257
Table of Contents provided by Syndetics. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review