did-you-know? rent-now

Amazon no longer offers textbook rentals. We do!

did-you-know? rent-now

Amazon no longer offers textbook rentals. We do!

We're the #1 textbook rental company. Let us show you why.

9781338882346

World War II Close Up: They Saved the Stallions

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781338882346

  • ISBN10:

    1338882341

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2024-10-15
  • Publisher: Scholastic Focus
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $25.99 Save up to $0.78
  • Buy New
    $25.21

    NOT YET PRINTED. PLACE AN ORDER AND WE WILL SHIP IT AS SOON AS IT ARRIVES.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

Award-winning author Deborah Hopkinson deftly brings to life the thrilling true story of the desperate fight to save the world-famous Spanish Riding School in Vienna and its beloved Lipizzaner horses during World War II, perfect for fans of I Survived!

Scholastic Focus is the premier home of thoroughly researched, beautifully written, and thoughtfully designed works of narrative nonfiction aimed at middle grade and young adult readers. These books help readers learn about the world in which they live and develop their critical thinking skills so that they may become dynamic citizens who are able to analyze and understand our past, participate in essential discussions about our present, and work to grow and build our future.

In the closing months of World War II, American bombs rained down on Nazi Germany and its territories, including Austria.

As glass shattered around them in Vienna, an ordinary-looking horse named Nero and his stable mates, the dancing white Lipizzaner stallions of the famed Spanish Riding School, quiver and shake in fear. But they do not panic. Somehow, they sense the school's director, dedicated horseman Alois Podhajsky, will do everything he can to keep them safe.

Yet Alois can't do it alone. And in the chaotic last days of the war, as their fate becomes more uncertain than ever, Nero will play a key role in helping Alois appeal for aid from an unlikely ally -- America.

But time is running out. It will take a daring band of American soldiers -- along with horse lovers from opposing sides -- to pull off a secret mission to save the Lipizzaners from certain destruction. United by their love of horses, these unsung heroes risked their lives to preserve the majesty of this rare breed for generations to come.

Join the ride as critically acclaimed author Deborah Hopkinson brings to life the exhilarating true story of Operation Cowboy and the miraculous survival of the Spanish Riding School. Featuring rare family photos and told for the first time for young readers, They Saved the Stallions is bound to please every history fan and horse lover.

Author Biography

Deborah Hopkinson is the highly acclaimed author of thrilling, accessible, and compelling works of fiction and nonfiction for every reader. She has written over forty award-winning books, including Titanic: Voices from the Disaster, a YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award Finalist and Sibert Honor Book; D-Day: The World War II Invasion That Changed History; We Had to Be Brave: Escaping the Nazis on the Kindertransport, which was a Kids' Book Choice Award Nominee and a Sydney Taylor Notable Book; NCTE/Orbis Pictus Recommended Book, We Must Not Forget; Race Against Death, which School Library Journal called "impactful" in a starred review; and her series for Grades 2-5, The Deadliest, which are action-packed, photo-filled nonfiction titles about disasters throughout history, and the rollicking novel The Plot to Kill a Queen. Deborah lives outside Portland, Oregon.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

The Used, Rental and eBook copies of this book are not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Rewards Program