9781935639800

American Dream Machine

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781935639800

  • ISBN10:

    1935639803

  • Edition: Reprint
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2014-04-15
  • Publisher: Tin House Books
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $14.66 Save up to $2.20
  • Buy New
    $12.46

    IN STOCK USUALLY SHIPS IN 24-48 HOURS

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The eBook copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

The story of an iconic striver, a classic self-made man in the vein of Jay Gatsby or Augie March, American Dream Machine follows a talent agent and his troubled sons, two generations of Hollywood royalty. Beau Rosenwald — overweight, not particularly handsome, and improbably charismatic — arrives in Los Angeles in 1962 with nothing but an ill-fitting suit and a pair of expensive brogues. By the late 1970s he has helped found the most successful agency in Hollywood. Through the eyes of his son, we watch Beau and his partner go to war, waging a seismic battle that redraws the lines of an entire industry. We watch Beau rise and fall and rise again, in accordance with the cultural transformations that dictate the fickle world of movies. We watch Beau's partner, the enigmatic and cerebral Williams Farquarsen, struggle to control his impulses, and consolidate his power. And we watch two generations of men fumble and thrive across the Los Angeles landscape, learning for themselves the costs exacted by success and failure. Mammalian, funny, and filled with characters both vital and profound, American Dream Machine is a piercing interrogation of the role that illusion plays in all our lives.

Author Biography

Matthew Specktor is the author of That Summertime Sound, as well as a nonfiction book of film criticism. His writing has appeared or is forthcoming in The Paris Review, The Believer, Tin House, Black Clock, and other publications. He is a founding editor of the Los Angeles Review of Books and lives in Los Angeles.

Rewards Program

Write a Review