9780393326543

Breaking the Tongue PA

by
  • ISBN13:

    9780393326543

  • ISBN10:

    0393326543

  • Edition: 00
  • Format: Trade Paper
  • Copyright: 2005-03-17
  • Publisher: W W NORTON

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $14.95 Save up to $1.49
  • Rent Book $13.46
    Add to Cart Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."'” Library Journal "A moving accomplishment."'” Publishers Weekly , starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."'”Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."'”Andrea Barrett "A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."'”Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists'”including the elusive young woman Ling-Li'”mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.

Rewards Program

Write a Review