CART

(0) items

Frankenstein, A Longman Cultural Edition

by ;
Edition:
2nd
ISBN13:

9780321399533

ISBN10:
0321399536
Format:
Paperback
Pub. Date:
6/30/2006
Publisher(s):
Longman
List Price: $23.60

Rent Textbook

(Recommended)
 
Term
Due
Price
$14.16

Buy New Textbook

Currently Available, Usually Ships in 24-48 Hours
N9780321399533
$23.42

eTextbook


 
Duration
Price
$10.79

Used Textbook

We're Sorry
Sold Out

More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $18.62
See Prices

Questions About This Book?

Why should I rent this book?
Renting is easy, fast, and cheap! Renting from eCampus.com can save you hundreds of dollars compared to the cost of new or used books each semester. At the end of the semester, simply ship the book back to us with a free UPS shipping label! No need to worry about selling it back.
How do rental returns work?
Returning books is as easy as possible. As your rental due date approaches, we will email you several courtesy reminders. When you are ready to return, you can print a free UPS shipping label from our website at any time. Then, just return the book to your UPS driver or any staffed UPS location. You can even use the same box we shipped it in!
What version or edition is this?
This is the 2nd edition with a publication date of 6/30/2006.
What is included with this book?
  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any CDs, lab manuals, study guides, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. You may receive a brand new copy, but typically, only the book itself.

Related Products


  • Frankenstein, A Longman Cultural Edition
    Frankenstein, A Longman Cultural Edition




Summary

From the Longman Cultural Editions series, this second edition of Frankenstein presents Mary Shelley's remarkable novel in several provocative and illuminating contexts: cultural, critical, and literary. Series Editor Susan J. Wolfson presents the 1818 version of Mary Shelley's famous novel in its cultural and historical contexts. Like all great works of fiction, Frankenstein gains depth and dimension from its "conversation" with contemporary texts, especially those by Shelley's own parents, husband, and friends. A lively introduction is complemented by a chronology coordinating Shelley's life with key historical events and a speculative calendar of the novel's events in the late eighteenth century. In addition to the 1818 text, this cultural edition features the introduction to and a sample revision of the 1831 version. New to this Edition is Frankentalk, a section of selected references to Frankenstein in the popular press, and the complete text of Richard Brinsley Peakers"s Frankenstein, A Romantic Drama, the first stage version of Frankenstein. Fans of Science Fiction and Gothic Literature.

Author Biography

Susan J. Wolfson is professor of English at Princeton University. In addition to this present volume, her editorial work includes  Felicia Hemans (Princeton UP, 2000) and the Longman Cultural Edition of John Keats.  With Claudia Johnson, she is coeditor of the Longman Cultural Edition of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. With Peter Manning, she is coeditor of the Romantics volume in The Longman Anthology of British Literature, and Selected Poems of Lord Byron (Penguin, 2005).  Her critical books include the prize-winning Formal Charges: The Shaping of Poetry in British Romanticism (Stanford UP, 1997) and Borderlines: The Shiftings of Gender in British Romanticism (Stanford UP, 2007).

Table of Contents

List of Illustrations ix
About Longman Cultural Editions xi
About This Edition xiii
Introduction xvii
Table of Dates xiii
Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus (1818) 1(179)
Volume I
5(59)
Volume II
64(51)
Volume III
115(65)
from Frankenstein: or, The Modern Prometheus (1831) 180(29)
M.W.S.'s Introduction
186(5)
Some Additions to Robert Walton's first letters
191(3)
Some Additions and Revisions to Victor Frankenstein's Narrative
194(17)
Victor's childhood and the adoption of Elizabeth
Victor's enchantment with occult science and his encounter with modern science
Victor's departure for University of Ingolstadt
Clerval's straits
Victor meets Professors Krempe and Waldman
Victor 's health suffers
Elizabeth's report on Ernest Frankenstein Clerval's lament for William
Victor's anguish over Justine and William
Victor's continuing agony
[Creature's story of framing Justine]
Victor's plans for a second creature
Clerval's imperial ambitions
Victor's apprehensions for his family, his longing for oblivion
Victor's secret
Contexts 209(2)
Monsters, Visionaries, and Mary Shelley 211(62)
AESTHETIC ADVENTURES
211(7)
Edmund Burke on "the Sublime and the Beautiful"
212(3)
Mary Wollstonecraft on Burke's genderings
215(1)
William Gilpin on "the Picturesque"
216(2)
SAMUEL TAYLOR COLERIDGE, from The Rime of the Ancyent Marinere (1798)
218(10)
MARY WOLLSTONECRAFT, from The Wrongs of Woman; or Maria: Jemima's story
228(17)
MARY GODWIN (SHELLEY), from her journal of 1815: the death of her first baby
245(2)
PERCY BYSSHE SHELLEY, from Alastor; or, The Spirit of Solitude
247(9)
MARY WOLLSTONECRAFT SHELLEY, with Percy Bysshe Shelley, from History' of a Six Weeks' Tour: Alpine scenery
256(2)
PERCY BYSSHE, SHELLEY, Mont Blanc
258(5)
GEORGE GORDON, LORD BYRON
263(6)
from Manfred, A Dramatic Poem
263(4)
from Childe Harold's Pilgrimage, Canto the Third: Alpine thunderstorm
267(2)
LEIGH HUNT, from Blue-Stocking Revels, or The Feast of the Violets
269(1)
DR. BENJAMIN SPOCK, from Baby and Child Care
270(3)
The Story-Telling Compact 273(28)
GEORGE GORDON, LORD BYRON, A Fragment
274(6)
JOHN WILLIAM POLIDORI, The Vampyre
280(21)
God, Adam, and Satan 301(22)
GENESIS: chapters 2 and 3 (King James Bible)
302(2)
JOHN MILTON, from Paradise Lost
304(10)
WILLIAM GODWIN, from Political Justice
314(1)
GEORGE GORDON, LORD BYRON, Prometheus
315(2)
WILLIAM HAZLITT, remarks on Satan, from Lectures on the English Poets
317(2)
PERCY BYSSHE SHELLEY
from Prometheus Unbound
319(2)
from A Defence of Poetry
321(2)
Richard Brinsley Peake, Frankenstein, A Romantic Drama in Three Acts (1823) 323(46)
Reviews and Reactions 369(33)
[John Wilson Croker], Quarterly Review, January 1818
372(5)
[Walter Scott], Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, March 1818
377(5)
(Scots) Edinburgh Magazine and Literary Miscellany, March 1818
382(3)
Belle Assemblée, March 1818
385(1)
British Critic, April 1818
386(3)
Gentleman's Magazine, April 1818
389(1)
Monthly Review, April 1818
389(1)
Literary Panorama, June 1818
390(1)
Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, March 1823
391(1)
London Morning Post, reviews of Peake's Frankenstein, July 1823
392(2)
George Canning, remarks in Parliament, March 1824
394(1)
Knight's Quarterly Magazine, August 1824
395(3)
London Literacy Gazette, November 1831
398(1)
[Percy Bysshe Shelley, posthumous], Anthenœum, November 1832
399(3)
Frankentalk: Frankenstein in the Popular Press of Today 402(23)
Further Reading and Viewing 425


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...