9781937006945

Mindfulness as Medicine

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781937006945

  • ISBN10:

    1937006948

  • Edition: 1st
  • Format: Trade Paper
  • Copyright: 2015-03-02
  • Publisher: Parallax Press
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $18.95 Save up to $2.84
  • Buy New
    $16.11

    IN STOCK USUALLY SHIPS IN 24 HOURS

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

Before she became a Buddhist nun in the tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh, Sister Dang Nghiem was a doctor. Born during the Tet Offensive and part of the amnesty for Amerasian children of the late 1970s, Dang Nghiem arrived in this country virtually penniless and with no home. She lived with three foster families, graduated high school with honors, earned two undergraduate degrees, and became a doctor. When the man she thought she’d spend her life with suddenly drowned, Sister Dang Nghiem left medicine and joined the monastic community of Thich Nhat Hanh.

It is from this vantage point that Dang Nghiem writes about her journey of healing. Devastated by the diagnosis and symptoms of Lyme Disease, she realized that she was also reliving many of the unresolved traumas from earlier in her life. She applied both her medical knowledge and her advanced understanding and practice of mindfulness to healing. Through meditation she finally came to understand what it means to “master” suffering.

In Mindfulness as Medicine Sister Dang Nghiem leads readers through her profound journey of healing and shares step-by-step directions for the techniques she used to transform her suffering.

Author Biography

Sister Dang Nghiem is the author of the critically acclaimed Healing: A Woman’s Journey from Doctor to Nun, a Buddhist nun, a motivational speaker, and an inspiration for anyone who has ever dealt with severe illness or chronic pain. She was a practicing doctor at UCSF Medical Center before she became a Zen Buddhist nun in the tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh. In 2011 she contracted Neuro-Lyme Disease, which affected both her physical and cognitive functioning. Using mindfulness practices, she has had what doctor’s termed a “miraculous” recovery. She continues to successfully manage her illness and pain with mindfulness practice. Sister Dang Nghiem lives in Magnolia Grove Monastery, outside Batesville, MS.

Rewards Program

Write a Review