CART

(0) items

The Rime of the Modern Mariner

by
ISBN13:

9780670025800

ISBN10:
0670025801
Format:
Hardcover
Pub. Date:
10/25/2012
Publisher(s):
Viking Adult
List Price: $32.00
More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $0.01

Rent Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

eBook

We're Sorry
Not Available

New Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Related Products


  • Play With Max and Ruby
    Play With Max and Ruby
  • Who Was Amelia Earhart?
    Who Was Amelia Earhart?
  • Who Was Harriet Tubman?
    Who Was Harriet Tubman?
  • Who Was Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart?
    Who Was Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart?
  • Who Was Ferdinand Magellan?
    Who Was Ferdinand Magellan?
  • Who Was Helen Keller?
    Who Was Helen Keller?
  • Who Was Thomas Jefferson?
    Who Was Thomas Jefferson?
  • Max and Ruby Play School Picture Reader
    Max and Ruby Play School Picture Reader
  • Ruby's Rainy Day
    Ruby's Rainy Day
  • Who Was Mark Twain?
    Who Was Mark Twain?





Summary

An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, "The Rime of the Ancient Mariner" was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Marineris a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch-thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas. Hayes's visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem's enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man's thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, The Rime of the Modern Marinerwill appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.

Author Biography

Nick Hayes is a political cartoonist for The Guardian and was a founding editor of Meat Magazine, which showcased new writing, comics, and illustrations. He has won two Guardian media awards.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...