CART

(0) items

The Rime of the Modern Mariner

by
ISBN13:

9780670025800

ISBN10:
0670025801
Format:
Hardcover
Pub. Date:
10/25/2012
Publisher(s):
Viking Adult

Related Products


  • The Dragon Nimbus Novels: Volume I
    The Dragon Nimbus Novels: Volume I
  • Unbound
    Unbound
  • The Dragon Nimbus Novels: Thye Dragon's Touchstone / the Last Battlemage
    The Dragon Nimbus Novels: Thye Dragon's Touchstone / the Last Battlemage
  • Deliverer
    Deliverer
  • Teh Renegade Dragon and the Wizard's Treasure
    Teh Renegade Dragon and the Wizard's Treasure
  • Hidden City : A House War Novel
    Hidden City : A House War Novel
  • The Alton Gift
    The Alton Gift
  • The Sleeping God: A Novel of Dhulyn and Parno
    The Sleeping God: A Novel of Dhulyn and Parno
  • Reserved For The Cat
    Reserved For The Cat
  • Goblin War
    Goblin War





Summary

An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, "The Rime of the Ancient Mariner" was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Marineris a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch-thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas. Hayes's visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem's enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man's thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, The Rime of the Modern Marinerwill appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.

Author Biography

Nick Hayes is a political cartoonist for The Guardian and was a founding editor of Meat Magazine, which showcased new writing, comics, and illustrations. He has won two Guardian media awards.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...