CART

(0) items

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

The Rime of the Modern Mariner

ISBN13:

9780670025800

by
ISBN10:
0670025801
Format:
Hardcover
Pub. Date:
10/25/2012
Publisher(s):
Viking Adult
List Price: $32.00
More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $1.10

Rent Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

eBook

We're Sorry
Not Available

New Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out


  • Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator
    Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator
  • Roald Dahl Magical Gift Set
    Roald Dahl Magical Gift Set
  • The Missing Golden Ticket and Other Splendiferous Secrets
    The Missing Golden Ticket and Other Splendiferous Secrets
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • The One and Only Ivan
    The One and Only Ivan
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society
    The Mysterious Benedict Society
  • The Night Circus
    The Night Circus
  • Inside Charlie's Chocolate Factory The Complete Story of Willy Wonka, the Golden Ticket, and Roald Dahl's Most Famous Creation.
    Inside Charlie's Chocolate Factory The Complete Story of Willy Wonka, the Golden Ticket, and Roald Dahl's Most Famous Creation.
  • Roald Dahl's Whipple-scrumptious Chocolate Box
    Roald Dahl's Whipple-scrumptious Chocolate Box
  • The Creature Department
    The Creature Department





Summary

An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, "The Rime of the Ancient Mariner" was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Marineris a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch-thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas. Hayes's visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem's enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man's thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, The Rime of the Modern Marinerwill appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.

Author Biography

Nick Hayes is a political cartoonist for The Guardian and was a founding editor of Meat Magazine, which showcased new writing, comics, and illustrations. He has won two Guardian media awards.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...