CART

(0) items

The Rime of the Modern Mariner

by
ISBN13:

9780670025800

ISBN10:
0670025801
Format:
Hardcover
Pub. Date:
10/25/2012
Publisher(s):
Viking Adult
List Price: $32.00
More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $0.01

Rent Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

eBook

We're Sorry
Not Available

New Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Related Products


  • Tremble Erotic Tales of the Mystical and Sinister
    Tremble Erotic Tales of the Mystical and Sinister
  • Slimed!: An Oral History of Nickelodeon's Golden Age
    Slimed!: An Oral History of Nickelodeon's Golden Age
  • The Moral Molecule How Trust Works
    The Moral Molecule How Trust Works
  • I'd Rather Be Short: 100 Reasons Why It's Great to Be Small
    I'd Rather Be Short: 100 Reasons Why It's Great to Be Small
  • Crown Duel
    Crown Duel
  • The Knights of the Kitchen Table #1
    The Knights of the Kitchen Table #1
  • Things Not Seen
    Things Not Seen
  • Someone Like You (reissue)
    Someone Like You (reissue)
  • Things Not Seen
    Things Not Seen
  • The Road to Paris
    The Road to Paris





Summary

An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, "The Rime of the Ancient Mariner" was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Marineris a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch-thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas. Hayes's visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem's enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man's thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, The Rime of the Modern Marinerwill appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.

Author Biography

Nick Hayes is a political cartoonist for The Guardian and was a founding editor of Meat Magazine, which showcased new writing, comics, and illustrations. He has won two Guardian media awards.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...