CART

(0) items

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry Love, Laughter, and Tears in Paris at the World's Most Famous Cooking School,9780143114130

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry Love, Laughter, and Tears in Paris at the World's Most Famous Cooking School

by
Edition:
Reprint
ISBN13:

9780143114130

ISBN10:
0143114131
Format:
Paperback
Pub. Date:
9/2/2008
Publisher(s):
Penguin Books
List Price: $15.00

Rent Book

(Recommended)
 
Term
Due
Price
$9.00

Buy Used Book

Usually Ships in 2-3 Business Days
U9780143114130
$9.75

Buy New Book

In Stock Usually Ships in 24 Hours
N9780143114130
$11.20

eBook

We're Sorry
Not Available

More New and Used
from Private Sellers
Starting at $0.01
See Prices

Questions About This Book?

Why should I rent this book?
Renting is easy, fast, and cheap! Renting from eCampus.com can save you hundreds of dollars compared to the cost of new or used books each semester. At the end of the semester, simply ship the book back to us with a free UPS shipping label! No need to worry about selling it back.
How do rental returns work?
Returning books is as easy as possible. As your rental due date approaches, we will email you several courtesy reminders. When you are ready to return, you can print a free UPS shipping label from our website at any time. Then, just return the book to your UPS driver or any staffed UPS location. You can even use the same box we shipped it in!
What version or edition is this?
This is the Reprint edition with a publication date of 9/2/2008.
What is included with this book?
  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any CDs, lab manuals, study guides, etc.
  • The Used copy of this book is not guaranteed to inclue any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. You may receive a brand new copy, but typically, only the book itself.

Summary

This is the funny and inspiring account of Kathleen Flinn’s struggle in a stew of hot-tempered chefs, competitive classmates, her own wretchedly inadequate” French, and the basics of French cuisine. Flinn was a thirty-six-year-old middle manager trapped on the corporate ladder—until her boss eliminated her job. So she cashed in her savings and moved to Paris to pursue her lifelong dream of attending the venerable Le Cordon Bleu cooking school. Fans of Julie & Juliaand the late Julia Child will be richly rewarded by this vibrant tale of self-discovery, transformation, and ultimately love.

Author Biography

Kathleen Flinn has been a writer and journalist for nearly twenty years. Her work has appeared in the Chicago Sun- Times, Smithsonian, USA Today, Men-'s Fitness, The Globe and Mail, and many other publications.

Table of Contents

Author's Notep. ix
Prologue: This Is Not for Pretendp. 1
Basic Cuisinep. 5
Life Is Not a Dress Rehearsalp. 7
Lost in Translationp. 17
Culinary Boot Campp. 25
Taking Stockp. 35
Memoirs of a Quichep. 46
La Vie en Rosep. 56
No Bones About Itp. 66
Splitting Haresp. 74
The Souffle Also Risesp. 83
As the Vegetables Turnp. 92
Final Exam-Basicp. 103
Intermediate Cuisinep. 113
Class Break: Spainp. 115
C'est la Vie, C'est la Guerrep. 118
A Week in Provencep. 128
Rites of Passagep. 134
The Silence of the Lambp. 143
"I Am a Pizza for Kathleen"p. 150
A Sauce Thicker Than Bloodp. 158
La Catastrophe Americainep. 164
Bon Travailp. 171
Final exam-Intermediatep. 177
Superior Cuisinep. 183
Class Break: Normandy, then Americap. 185
Back in Bleup. 189
Great Expectationsp. 202
Gods, Monsters, and Slavesp. 211
La Dansep. 220
Bye-bye, Lobsterp. 231
I Didn't Always Hate My Jobp. 243
An American Hospital in Parisp. 249
Final Exam-Superiorp. 259
Epilogue: Thanksgiving in Parisp. 271
Extra Recipesp. 275
Acknowledgmentsp. 279
Selected Bibliographyp. 281
Index of Recipesp. 283
Menu Guide for Book Clubsp. 286
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.


Please wait while the item is added to your cart...