9780691143293

Souled Out

by
  • ISBN13:

    9780691143293

  • ISBN10:

    0691143293

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2009-10-12
  • Publisher: Princeton Univ Pr

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $24.95 Save up to $2.49
  • Rent Book $22.46
    Add to Cart Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Rental copy of this book is not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

The religious and political winds are changing. Tens of millions of religious Americans are reclaiming faith from those who would abuse it for narrow, partisan, and ideological purposes. And more and more secular Americans are discovering common ground with believers on the great issues of social justice, peace, and the environment. InSouled Out, award-winning journalist and commentator E. J. Dionne explains why the era of the Religious Right--and the crude exploitation of faith for political advantage--is over. Based on years of research and writing,Souled Outshows that the end of the Religious Right doesn't signal the decline of evangelical Christianity but rather its disentanglement from a political machine that sold it out to a narrow electoral agenda of such causes as opposition to gay marriage and abortion. With insightful portraits of leading contemporary religious figures from Rick Warren and Richard Cizik to John Paul II and Benedict XVI, Dionne shows that our great religions have always preached a broad message of hope for more just human arrangements and refused to be mere props for the powers that be. Dionne also argues that the new atheist writers should be seen as a gift to believers, a demand that they live up to their proclaimed values and embrace scientific and philosophical inquiry in a spirit of "intellectual solidarity." Written in the tradition of Reinhold and H. Richard Niebuhr,Souled Outwill help change how we think and talk about religion and politics in the post-Bush era.

Author Biography

E. J. Dionne Jr. is a syndicated columnist for the Washington Post, a regular political analyst on National Public Radio, a senior fellow at the Brookings institution, and a professor at Georgetown University.

Table of Contents

Introduction Is God's Work Our Work? Faith, Doubt, and Radical Amazementp. 1
Is Religion Conservative or Progressive? (Or Both?)p. 25
Why the Culture War Is the Wrong War: Religion, Values, and American Politicsp. 45
What Are the "Values" Issues? Economics, Social Justice, and the Struggle over Moralityp. 71
Selling Religion Short: When Ideology Is Not Enoughp. 92
John Paul, Benedict, and the Catholic Futurep. 126
What Happened to the Seamless Garment? The Agony of Liberal Catholicismp. 151
Solidarity, Liberty, and Religion's True Callingp. 183
Notesp. 205
Acknowledgmentsp. 227
Indexp. 235
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review