A Concise History of Western Music

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Edition: 1st
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2009-12-14
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $29.99 Save up to $13.50
  • Rent Book $16.49
    Add to Cart Free Shipping

    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?


Engaging, clear and informative, this is the story of western music - of its great composers and also of its performers and listeners, of changing ideas of what music is and what it is for. Paul Griffiths shows how music has evolved through the centuries, and suggests how its evolution has mirrored developments in the human notion of time, from the eternity of heaven to the computer's microsecond. The book provides an enticing introduction for students and beginners, using the minimum of technical terms, all straightforwardly defined in the glossary. Its perspective and its insights will also make it illuminating for teachers, musicians and music lovers. Suggestions for further reading and recommended recordings are given for each of the 24 short chapters.

Table of Contents

Acknoweldgementsp. ix
Prehistoryp. 1
Time wholep. 5
From Babylonians to Franksp. 8
Time measured 1100-1400p. 19
Troubadours and organistsp. 22
Ars nova and Narcissus's clockp. 32
Time sensed 1400-1630p. 43
Harmony, the light of timep. 47
The radiance of the High Renaissancep. 57
Reformation and heartachep. 68
To speak in muskp. 81
Time known 1630-1770p. 95
Baroque morningsp. 98
Fugue, concerto and operatic passionp. 111
Rococo and reformp. 123
Time embraced 1770-1815p. 135
Sonata as comedyp. 138
Revolution's momentump. 150
Time escaping 1815-1907p. 163
The deaf man and the singerp. 166
Angels and other prodigiesp. 177
New Germans and old Viennap. 190
Romantic eveningsp. 202
Nightfall and sunrisep. 215
Time tangled 1908-1975p. 227
To begin againp. 231
Forwards and backwards, and sidewaysp. 244
The people's needsp. 258
To begin again againp. 270
Whirlwindp. 286
Time lost 1975p. 299
Echoes in the labyrinthp. 303
Interludep. 314
Glossaryp. 317
Further reading and listeningp. 329
Indexp. 341
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review