The Dark Frigate

by ;
  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2018-05-16
  • Publisher: Dover Publications

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $7.99 Save up to $1.60
  • Rent Book $6.39
    Add to Cart Free Shipping

    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?


Young readers who love a swashbuckling yarn will be captivated by The Dark Frigate, winner of the 1924 Newbery Medal as the year's most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Abounding in intrigue, battles, and acts of derring-do, the story takes place in the 17th century and charts a course from England to the Caribbean. The hero, Philip Marsham, lost his mother at an early age and was raised aboard various ships by his sea captain father. Alas, a premature death also claims 19-year-old Philip's father, and now he's truly alone in the world. When an accident forces him to flee from London, Philip looks to the sea for his livelihood.
Upon meeting some sailors bound for the port of Bideford, Philip joins them in signing on with the Rose of Devon, a frigate bound for Newfoundland. Their transatlantic passage is disrupted by an encounter with a floating wreck, and their rescue of the survivors is repaid with foul treachery by these "gentlemen of fortune" — a band of bloodthirsty pirates who coerce Philip and the rest of the crew into joining in their murderous deeds. Will Philip hang alongside them when the buccaneers are brought to justice?

Author Biography

Charles Boardman Hawes (1889–1923) wrote both fiction and nonfiction stories of the sea. Only two of his five books had been published at the time of his sudden death at the age of 34. He had just completed his third, The Dark Frigate, which became an instant bestseller and was awarded the Newbery Medal for best children's book of 1923.

Table of Contents

I. Flight
II. A Leal Man and a Fool
III. Two Sailors on Foot
IV. The Girl at the Inn
V. Sir John Bristol
VI. The Rose of Devon
VII. The Ship's Liar
VIII. Storm
IX. The Master's Guest
X. Between Midnight and Morning.
XI. Head Winds and a Rough bSea
XII. The Porcupine Ketch
XIII. A Bird to be Limed
XIV. A Wonderful Excellent Cook
XV.A Lonesome Little Town
XVI. The Harbour of Refuge
XVII. Will Canty
XVIII. Tom Jordan's Mercy
XIX. A Man Seen Before
XX. A Prize for the Taking
XXI.Ill Words Come True
XXII. Back to the Inn
XXIII. And Old Sir John
XXIV. And Again the Rose of Devon

Rewards Program

Write a Review