9780486826677

Droll Stories Selected Tales

by
  • ISBN13:

    9780486826677

  • ISBN10:

    0486826678

  • Edition: Reprint
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2019-01-16
  • Publisher: Dover Publications
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $6.00 Save up to $0.90
  • Buy New
    $5.10

    NOT YET PRINTED. PLACE AN ORDER AND WE WILL SHIP IT AS SOON AS IT ARRIVES.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

These choice selections from Honoré de Balzac's Droll Stories offer a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. Told in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais, they allegedly originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Originally published in three sets of ten tales in the 1830s, the stories abound in episodes of good-humored licentiousness that scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers.
French novelist and playwright Honoré de Balzac (1799–1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make his Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers.

Author Biography

French novelist and playwright Honoré de Balzac (1799–1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail.

Table of Contents

Translator's Preface
Prologue
The Fair Imperia
The Venial Sin
The King's Sweetheart
The Devil's Heir
The Three Clerks of St. Nicholas
The Continence of King Francis the First
How the Chateau D'Azay Came to Be Built
The Danger of Being Too Innocent
Perseverance in Love
About the Monk Amador, Who Was a Glorious Abbot of Turpenay
Odd Sayings of Three Pilgrims
The Fair Imperia Married
Epilogue

Rewards Program

Write a Review