did-you-know? rent-now

Amazon no longer offers textbook rentals. We do!

did-you-know? rent-now

Amazon no longer offers textbook rentals. We do!

We're the #1 textbook rental company. Let us show you why.

9781797220314

El viaje de Yenebi a la escuela (Yenebi's Drive to School Spanish edition)

by ;
  • ISBN13:

    9781797220314

  • ISBN10:

    1797220314

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2023-06-27
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $17.99 Save up to $4.50
  • Rent Book $13.49
    Add to Cart Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE
    USUALLY SHIPS IN 2-3 BUSINESS DAYS
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

Dreamers meets School's First Day of School in this vibrant story that puts a whole new spin on one loving family's morning drive to school.
 

Entre semana me levanto a las cuatro de la mañana.
Me cepillo los dientes, me visto y arrastro a mi hermana Melanie hasta el carro donde nos espera mami.
¡Se nos va a hacer tarde! ¡Apúrense!


Durante las siguientes dos horas viajaremos en carro. Pasaremos por los vendedores de tamales (mi parte favorita), por la línea (mi parte menos favorita) y cruzaremos la frontera hacia los Estados Unidos. Así es como llegamos a la escuela todos los días. Esta es nuestra rutina. ¡Vamos!

Con un tono ganador y radiante, y con una paleta brillante y cordial, la autora-ilustradora Sendy Santamaria hace su debut con esta historia sobre el viaje de una niña, un viaje que la propia Sendy hacía de niña como ciudadana estadounidense residente en México. El viaje a la escuela de Yenebi lleva a los lectores a recorrer un trayecto que muchos reconocerán como muy similar al propio.
 

INSPIRED BY A TRUE STORY: By celebrating the daily details of a child's commute to school that reflects the author's experience, this universal and inviting picture book is truly a mirror, a window, and a door.
 
TIMELY TOPIC: An accessible approach to a serious (and seriously underdocumented) part of American life for many young readers. Teachers, librarians, and parents will appreciate the way this book blends the importance of current events in an easily understandable narrative that kids will enjoy following along with.
 
FAMILY-CENTRIC: The journey described in this story—a loving family's daily trip to school—is timeless and relatable, yet wonderfully specific.
 
UNIQUE EXPERIENCES: Like Last Stop on Market Street, this book leans into the narrator (and creator)'s very particular experience and yet makes the individuality of such an experience highly relatable, communicating to readers that even their most personal routines are part of what connects them with all humans. Young readers who take the bus to school or get driven a few blocks by their parents will see what makes them similar to kids like the author, even if the shape of their routines are different.
 
FRESH APPROACH TO A CLASSIC TOPIC: The author turns the "back to school" trope on its head by making the book all about the trip, rather than focusing on apprehension or excitement about school itself. 

Perfect for:
  • Teachers and librarians looking picture books in Spanish or by Latinx creators
  • Parents looking for bilingual content and bicultural kids' books
  • Kids who want to read about experiences different than their own
  • Fans of Dreamers, Our Class is a Family, and The Name Jar

Author Biography

Sendy Santamaria es una ilustradora de San Diego que actualmente vive en la zona de la bahía de San Francisco. Se crió a ambos lados de la frontera entre San Diego y Tijuana, y pasó mucho tiempo soñando despierta en la Línea Azul del Tranvía de San Diego. Obtuvo su licenciatura en Ilustración del California College of the Arts. Sendy disfruta de contar historias a través de diferentes medios. Sus obras celebran narrativas cotidianas y la cultura chicana. La inspiran la migración, la perseverancia, las palomas y el amor.

 

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

The Used, Rental and eBook copies of this book are not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Rewards Program