9780452288669

The Extreme Future The Top Trends That Will Reshape the World in the Next 20 Years

by
  • ISBN13:

    9780452288669

  • ISBN10:

    0452288665

  • Edition: Reprint
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2007-08-28
  • Publisher: Plume

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $15.62 Save up to $6.25
  • Rent Book $9.37
    Add to Cart Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE
    USUALLY SHIPS IN 2-3 BUSINESS DAYS

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

  • The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.
  • The Used and Rental copies of this book are not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Summary

A renowned global futurist prepares businesses and individuals for the radical changes on the horizon An advisor to three presidents spanning over thirty years, Dr. James Canton identifies probable outcomes and future trends in business, technology, environment, terrorism, population, and medicine to help companies and individuals prepare for the coming complex and volatile global changes, including: • How climate change and energy trends will reshape the planet • How astounding medicine trends will enhance people’s lives • How the rise of China will bring on a new global power struggle In the tradition of Future Shock, Megatrends, and The Tipping Point, Extreme Futureis the essential forecasting handbook for navigating the twenty-first century.

Author Biography

JAMES CANTON, Ph.D., is chairman and CEO of the Institute for Global Futures, an internationally recognized San Francisco-űbased think tank that advises Fortune 1000 and government clients. He has served on advisory boards at MIT-'s Media Lab and Motorola, and is a fellow at the Knowledge and Innovation Network at the Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University.

Table of Contents

The Extreme Future Introduction: The White House

Chapter 1. Welcome to the Extreme Future

Chapter 2. Fueling the Future

Chapter 3. Finding Prosperity: The Innovation Economy

Chapter 4. Help Wanted: The Future of the Workforce

Chapter 5. Outliving the Future: Longevity Medicine

Chapter 6. Tomorrow's Climate

Chapter 7. Cultures in Collision: The Future of Globalization

Chapter 8. Securing the Future

Chapter 9. Weird Science: What's Next

Chapter 10. Invisible War: The Future of the Individual

Chapter 11. Dancing Dragon: The Future of China

Chapter 12. The Future of America and Democracy

Acknowledgments
Index

Rewards Program

Write a Review