IMPORTANT COVID-19 UPDATES

9788491293088

La librería de los corazones rotos/ The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted

by
  • ISBN13:

    9788491293088

  • ISBN10:

    8491293086

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2019-11-19
  • Publisher: Suma De Letras
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $19.95 Save up to $1.00
  • Buy New
    $18.95

    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

La novela perfecta para quien haya tenido el corazón roto, para quien haya conseguido recomponerlo y para quien se lo haya dejado alguna vez en una librería.

Tom Hope no piensa que se le dé especialmente bien ser granjero. Solo hace lo que puede: ordeña las vacas, recoge las manzanas, cuida de las ovejas... tampoco se considera un buen marido porque su esposa lo abandonó y se llevó consigo al pequeño Peter. Pero cuando en su vida aparece Hannah Babel, la alegre y excéntrica mujer que quiere montar una librería en el pueblo, él se atreve a soñar que podrían ser felices juntos.

Sin embargo, en 1968 solo han transcurrido veinticuatro años desde que Hannah llegara a Auschwitz con su hijo pequeño y saliera sola. Y Tom se enfrenta a una batalla contra el dolor y el recuerdo que todavía apenas puede imaginar.

ENGLISH DESCRIPTION

A tender and wise novel about love, family, and forgiveness in 1960s Australia, in which a lonely farmer finds his world turned upside down by a vibrant woman determined to open the first bookstore his town has ever seen--and to leave her haunting memories of the Holocaust far behind.

"Beautifully written."--Garth Stein

"A poignant journey of unthinkable loss, love, and the healing capacity of the written word."--Ellen Keith

"Reminds us of the redemptive power of sharing our stories. I will remember this novel for a long time to come."--Steven Rowley


Can one unlikely bookshop heal two broken souls?

It is 1968 in rural Australia and lonely Tom Hope can't make heads or tails of Hannah Babel. Newly arrived from Hungary, Hannah is unlike anyone he's ever met--she's passionate, brilliant, and fiercely determined to open sleepy Hometown's first bookshop. 

Despite the fact that Tom has only read only one book in his life, when Hannah hires him to install shelving for the shop, the two discover an astonishing spark. Recently abandoned by an unfaithful wife--and still missing her sweet son, Peter--Tom dares to believe that he might make Hannah happy. But Hannah is a haunted woman. Twenty-four years earlier, she had been marched to the gates of Auschwitz.

Perfect for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Light Between OceansThe Bookshop of the Broken Hearted cherishes the power of love, literature, and forgiveness to transform our lives, and--if we dare allow them--to mend our broken hearts.

Author Biography

Robert Hillman ha escrito numerosos libros, entre los que destaca su obra autobiográfica de 2004 The Boy in the Green Suit, que le mereció el National Biography Award. En 2014 la crítica alabó su novela Joyful. Vive en Melbourne, Australia.

Rewards Program

Write a Review