Miranda Hart : The Unauthorised Biography

by Unknown
  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Format: Trade Paper
  • Copyright: 2012-10-01
  • Publisher: John Blake
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $14.95 Save up to $0.75
  • Buy New


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?


With no fewer than three gongs at the 2011 British Comedy Awards, Miranda Hart was crowned the Queen of Comedy. She had become something of a national treasure, yet thrust into the nation's living rooms (and hearts) with her self-titled sitcom; her success did not happen over night. For the first time, author Sophie Johnson reveals the story behind Miranda's rise to fame. The comedian was born in Torquay in 1972, yet despite graduating in politics from Bristol Polytechnic, she always wanted to be a comedian. Her inspiration includes the likes of Joyce Grenfell and Eric Morecombe. Miranda's story is followed through other TV roles such as The Vicar of Dibley, Nighty Night, Hyperdrive and Not Going Outbefore Miranda Hart's Joke Shop was commissioned by BBC Radio 2 and the first episode of her sitcom finally broadcast in November 2009. Miranda Hart is the newest comedy legend to capture the imagination of the publicthis is her full, unauthorized story.

Author Biography

Sophie Johnson is a writer and journalist with a background in script writing and comedy. She spent several years working in the stand-up industry before devoting her time to writing. Sophie enjoys nothing more than spending August flitting between shows at the Edinburgh festival, ably assisted by a glass of dry white wine.

Table of Contents

The Queen of Comedyp. 1
The Early Yearsp. 13
Growing Painsp. 25
Here Come the Girlsp. 36
Fringe Benefitsp. 49
Radio Daysp. 62
Opportunity Knocksp. 75
Going into Hyperdrivep. 89
Not Going outp. 103
The Writer's Journeyp. 114
Miranda Arrives at the Beebp. 129
Adventures in a Joke Shopp. 142
Reality Blursp. 157
The Boy Next Doorp. 169
You have been Watchingp. 180
Class Dismissedp. 196
The Art of the Praftfallp. 208
The Difficult Second Albump. 223
The Rise of the Office Tempp. 238
Doing Something Funny for Moneyp. 251
What's Next?p. 266
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review