IMPORTANT COVID-19 UPDATES

9781594205804

Moody Bitches The Truth About the Drugs You're Taking, The Sleep You're Missing, The Sex You're Not Having, and What's Really Making You Crazy

by
  • ISBN13:

    9781594205804

  • ISBN10:

    1594205809

  • Edition: 1st
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2015-03-03
  • Publisher: Penguin Press HC, The
  • Purchase Benefits
  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $27.95 Save up to $1.40
  • Buy New
    $26.55

    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

A groundbreaking health guide for women of all ages that shows women’s inherent moodiness is a strength, not a weakness, and medication is not always the answer
 
Women are leaders, breadwinners, and caregivers. We’re leaning in so much we’re about to fall over. To take the edge off, many women pop a pill, eat something sugary, have a drink, or spend mindless time online. These activities quickly become patterns that take an enormous toll on women’s bodies and natural hormonal balance.
 
Women are made to be moody and, according to Dr. Holland, that’s a strength—not a weakness. Our culture tells us otherwise, but when used properly, moodiness is power.
 
By design, our hormones ebb and flow over a twenty-eight-day cycle and wax and wane over decades of fertility. Women are naturally emotional and empathetic because of these fluctuations and our evolutionary role as caretakers. Our moods govern our reproductive cycle, but they are also a smart feedback system. They let us know when our bodies are primed to tackle different challenges and when we should be alert to developing problems.
 
But millions of American women are medicating away their hormones because the culture says that moodiness is a problem to be fixed. One in four American women takes a psychiatric drug, be it an antidepressant, antipsychotic, or antianxiety medication. If you add sleeping pills
to the mix, the statistics become considerably higher. In major metropolitan areas, the number of medicated women doubles.
 
Medicating away our natural moods can have devastating consequences for women in many areas of their lives: sex, relationships, sleep, eating, focus, balance, and aging. Unnecessary prescription drug use introduces a host of problems into these basic activities.
 
Dr. Julie Holland knows there is a better way. She’s been sharing her frank and funny wisdom with her patients for years, and in Moody Bitches Dr. Holland offers readers insider information about the pros and cons of the drugs they’re being offered, as well as some surprising and highly effective, individual, natural therapies that can help them press the reset button in their own bodies and minds.
 
In the tradition of Our Bodies, Our Selves, this groundbreaking guide for all ages will forge a much needed new path in women’s health—and offer women invaluable information on how to be better, more balanced bitches at every stage of life.

Author Biography

DR. JULIE HOLLAND has run her private psychiatric practice in Manhattan for nearly twenty years. Her nationally bestselling memoir, Weekends at Bellevue, was based on her nine years running the psychiatric ER. Dr. Holland is an expert on drugs and the brain and is the medical monitor for cannabis and MDMA research. She has appeared on the Today show numerous times. Moody Bitches is in development at HBO with Oprah Winfrey and Diablo Cody.

Rewards Program

Write a Review